Unfaithful - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Unfaithful Reviews

Page 2 of 127
½ March 20, 2015
Beautifully made, and Diane Lane is extraordinary
½ February 17, 2015
What I got to say about "Unfaithful" is that it's a good movie. "It will hold your attention from the begin to the end." Also, I could say this movie is a predictable movie to watch as well for my opinion. The performances by the cast is good. The directing by Adrian Lyne is good. The screenplay by Alvin Sargent and William Broyles is a smartly written. Cinematography works fine in the film. Finally the score is couldn't be better. "I got to report that "Unfaithful" is a movie that can have two story line but can easily combined them both to make an interesting, engaging, and compelling story that works for a film like this. A movie that is a must see."
January 16, 2015
Diane Lane's character is a bonified hewor, the first time I saw this movie I was single and didn't really think about how low it is to cheat or to mess with another man's woman but this movie, while intriguing, makes me hate the cheaters and guy's who have sex with a woman they know is involved, it's sickening, obviously I'm not the only one who thinks so, I personally can't even grasp killing anyone but that's why people get killed for cheating and for messing with another man's woman, obviously it's just a movie but this stuff goes down everyday, stupid and incredibly wrong, makes me cringe.
December 14, 2014
La actuación de Dian Lane es lo que vale la pana ver.
November 21, 2014
What seemed like an interesting movie after the first viewing, it's flaws are much more obvious in repeat viewings. Despite a great performance by Diane Lane, the film really doesn't bring anything new to the table and is rather contrived. There was no reason for this film to be made at all.
½ August 22, 2014
Ihanan tiivistunnelmainen trilleri, jossa upeat näyttelijät Richad Gere & Diane Lane. :) En muistanutkaan että elokuvan loppuratkaisu jätettiinkin ärsyttävästi katsojan ratkaistavaksi... o.O (Suom. Kohtalokas syrjähyppy)
June 20, 2014
This is a low budget porno Olivier is cute though
½ May 16, 2014
The chemistry between Lane and Gere is deep, and Lane and Martinez hot, and it works. So nearly soft porn at times, but leaving you with your imagination.
I would kill for Diane Lane.
½ April 28, 2014
Directed by Adrian Lyne (Flashdance (1983), 9 1/2 Weeks (1986), Fatal Attraction (1987) and Indecent Proposal (1993)), this erotic thriller is a remake of Claude Chabrol's The Unfaithful Wife (1968), this was also supposed to be a homage to Hitchcock, but it feels as dated as the erotic films Lyne made back in the 1980's, the action doesn't really begin until half way through, but it should have come in earlier. In New York, Edward Sumner (Richard Gere) and his wife Connie (Diane Lane) have been married for a number of years, and have a son called Charlie (Erik Per Sullivan). Their marriage is strong, but they haven't been very intimate for a while, while caught in the city during a windstorm, Connie bumps into Frenchman Paul Martel (Olivier Martinez), who deals in used books, they build up a rapport but it isn't long until they soon find passion, and Connie has an affair with Paul behind Edward's back. Connie and Paul meet up and it becomes frequent, and Edward becomes suspicious, and soon finds out what Connie has been up to, and he decides to confront Paul about this. It should have brought the erotic thriller kicking and screaming into the 21st Centure, but there's no fireworks to the story, and when the film takes that turn after the first hour, it's all too little too late, and even though it did well at the box-office thanks to clever marketing, Lyne hasn't directed a film since then, Shame really.
½ April 19, 2014
Diane Lane is a wayward wife and Richard Gere is her suspicious husband in Adrian Lyne's Unfaithful. Connie (Lane) leaves her suburban home on an errand, venturing into Manhattan during a wicked windstorm. On a trash-strewn Soho street, she literally runs into Paul Martel (Olivier Martinez), a handsome young Frenchman carrying a huge stack of books. Connie has a bad scrape on her knee, and is unable to get a cab, so Paul invites her up to his apartment. Paul is quietly flirtatious as he gives Connie some ice and a bandage for her knee. Connie phones home and explains to her son, Charlie (Erik Per Sullivan), that she's running late. Before she leaves, Paul gives her a book of Persian poetry, The Rubaiyat of Omar Khayyam. She mentions the encounter in passing to Edward (Gere), her husband, but it's clear that she's obsessing about Paul, and soon she's back in the city, with a pretext for calling him up. Soon, they are lovers, and they grow bolder and bolder in their passion. Edward begins to suspect, and eventually gets a private investigator (Dominic Chianese of The Sopranos) to follow Connie. His worst fears confirmed, Edward decides to confront Paul, a decision that will come to haunt him.
April 11, 2014
AMOR OBSESIVO Y CON SUSPENSO
March 22, 2014
well. that was a bleak and depressing and boring waste of 2.5 hours. I assume. Maybe the stuff people on IMDb liked was edited out for commercials or happened during the ten minutes my mom called towards the end. but I don't think so.
the acting was good, and I was pleased that the dog didn't die, but that's all it had going for it, and the non-ending made me feel insulted enough about their lack of respect for my time to bring it down from average.
I'm aware this makes me some kind of uncultured Neanderthal, but I have no appreciation for drama for the sake of drama. I need to like the characters or get a deeper message or feel entertained or something. its not enough for me to just go "wow, it sure sucks to be them." I get no enjoyment from that. particularly when it's their fault it sucks to be them.
I'm also vaguely astounded and semidistubed at just how much violent sex can be shown on network tv in the middle of the afternoon on a nonschool day. Not that I don't understand the appeal of rough sex, I very much do, but I shudder to think how many pubescent boys maybe stumbled on that mess during a sex scene and went "huh, she's saying no, but look how much she likes it anyways" and will go on about their lives with that planted in their brains.
so. yeah. anyways. yay for movie dog living, bah to the rest of you.
March 15, 2014
Good love story in some ways.
February 10, 2014
...an erotic thriller about infidelity that may seem surreal on plotting but filled with truthful human aesthetics. It has a strong performance from Diane Lane and the build-up of scenes are evocative enough to convey its premise.
January 10, 2014
A happy suburban family wife has a risky an affair with a young French book dealer. Diane Lane's performance is the only thing that saves this film, which lacks too much depth to be considered a melodrama and too much tension to be considered a thriller.
January 3, 2014
Adrian Lyne tells this story of a couple going through a crisis and facing the consequences of adultery. It's very well shot, nicely done but feels more like an exercise of style than a great film. It's mostly aimed to a female audience.
December 13, 2013
I found this movie and more importantly Diane Lanes performance to be stunningly electric. The scene on the bus was shivering. The plot is her having an affair and the overall toll it takes on her family at the end....
her scenes are beyond erotic and unbelievably sexual...excellent movie and performance by lane.
½ November 17, 2013
Not everyone's pace but I liked it......tense drama.
October 21, 2013
Another Adrian Lyne triumph. I can see it over and over and never tire of it.
October 13, 2013
This is an awesome movie!
Page 2 of 127