Unknown - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Unknown Reviews

Page 1 of 340
½ March 16, 2018
Um filme de ação envolvido em mistério que tem como estrela principal Liam Neeson? Será no mínimo interessante, pensei eu, e com alguma razão.

Unknown, realizado pelo diretor espanhol Jaume Collet-Serra, começa por apresentar Dr. Martin Harris (Liam Neeson) e a sua esposa Elizabeth (January Jones), que estão num voo para uma conferência de biotecnologia em Berlim. À saída do aeroporto Dr. Harris permite que o taxista carregue as suas malas e, à sua saída, a imagem confirma-nos que uma mala ficou para trás. À chegada ao hotel, ela começa a fazer o check-in e ele repara que uma mala tinha sido deixada para trás. Sem a avisar, apanha outro táxi para voltar para o aeroporto. Tenta contactá-la, mas não consegue sinal no telemóvel, em Berlim. Não havia rede em Berlim? Um pouco estranho não acham? Mas adiante.

Um contentor cai de um camião numa ponte e a série de manobras faz com que o táxi mergulhe, deixando Dr. Harris inconsciente. Salvo pela taxista (Diane Kruger), mas em coma durante quatro dias, recompõe-se rapidamente, e, ao chegar ao hotel, descobre que a sua mulher está bem casada com o "verdadeiro" Dr. Martin Harris (Aidan Quinn) e que nunca o tinha visto na sua vida.

A confusão começa. Será algum tipo de brincadeira? Para nós, a audiência, as possibilidades são infinitas. Este é o principal ponto positivo do filme. Contudo, é também onde o filme pode levar a alguma confusão, tendo em conta um ponto de vista retrospetivo. O primeiro ato é autêntico, faz-nos penar por este homem desnorteado, sem identidade. O cenário melancólico de Berlim também contribui para o clima de incerteza.

Costuma dizer-se que às vezes menos é mais, e era isso que o filme precisava. À medida que a história se desenrola e mais personagens são introduzidas, a narrativa perde o seu ímpeto, sendo apenas recuperado nas cenas de ação, que são bem filmadas, e não nos fazem perder a noção do espaço.

As performances de praticamente todos os intervenientes são subtis e deixam uma boa impressão. O destaque vai para Liam Neeson que salva o filme da mediocridade. Já a atriz January Jones não convence no seu papel, ficando aquém do resto do elenco.

Sem demonstrar muita ambição, Unknown apresenta-se consciente das suas qualidades mas possui uma premissa mais memorável do que o próprio filme.

5,5/10
February 18, 2018
I thought this film was great. Gripping, held my attention.
½ December 19, 2017
A solid premise for a movie, but hampered by a contrived script and far too much plot exposition.
½ July 15, 2017
Awesome thriller kept me guessing the whole time
July 7, 2017
Welcome to Berlin ;)
April 30, 2017
I enjoyed this but no way was Diane Kruger the lead star in this movie folks! Obviously she's been in bed with the right people or the wrong people. Liam Neeson is clearly the headliner for this awesome film, without him the movie is nothing. Great plot with an unexpected twist at the end!
April 16, 2017
With a great and intriguing start, this Liam Neeson thriller had me going. However, it loses steam in the last half hour or so and doesn't deliver a show stopping finish as we would have hoped. Not a bad action flick, but there are better
½ March 22, 2017
Not the best movie, just a sort of Spy movie rip off.
½ February 26, 2017
Some gaps only became apparent later, but otherwise the twist was unexpected and satisfying.
½ February 2, 2017
'Unknown' is a half decent mystery-thriller with a couple of fairly decent, if a bit routine, action sequences and twists and turns. There are some pretty good performances from Liam Neeson (as his usual sort of reliable, if a bit samey, self) and Bruno Ganz in a minor role, as well as the supporting cast which do a more than serviceable job.

I enjoyed it almost as much the second time as I did the first time, which says that the film did something right considering a large part of the enjoyment is due to the mystery element. The pacing is well rounded and keeps things moving along smoothly but not too quickly. Sure, it isn't a great film by any stretch, but it's competently made and mostly entertaining from beginning to end. 3.5/5
January 31, 2017
It's good movie to watch
½ January 6, 2017
Pretty decent movie. Kept me interested. The fight scene at the end was a little dramatic but over good.
November 16, 2016
A second-rate bourne identity. Had a decent enough premise and plot that devolved into tedious, unnecessary car chases and fight scenes and unbelievable schlock. The first 15 minutes had me intrigued and wanting to know more, but by the 30 minute mark we fast-forwarded to the end.
Super Reviewer
October 13, 2016
Liam Neeson has a very particular set of skills and instead of using them to save his family, this time he's using them to save himself. Dr. Martin Harris (Neeson) has gone to Berlin, with his wife, for a medical conference, when an accident has left him in a coma. Upon awaking, no one knows who he is, not even his wife, but worse than that, there is another person walking around claiming to be Martin Harris. I don't know about you, but after three Taken movies and a handful of similar film, all starring Liam Neeson, playing the same type of character in the same type of situations, I've gotten pretty tired of him and his particular set of skills. At least the Taken movies moved at a reasonable pace and had more than a narrow focus, the same can't be said for Unknown. Parts of this film are as slow as can be, featuring Neeson and company sitting around talking about what could be going on and what to do before they show them doing it. They story is also so narrowly focused, that it leaves little flexibility for anything else. This film is as serious as it gets, it is a hundred percent focused on the story at all times, and Liam Neeson is as dry as the banks of the Colorado River. The chase scenes were cool, the conspiracy around everything was well written, but all in all this film feels very long and moves way too slowly for an action thriller, not to mention, I think I speak for everyone when I say we've had more than enough of Liam Neeson in these type of films.
½ September 28, 2016
Unknown features a typically great performance from Liam Neeson, and some well shot and executed action scenes. I really was able to feel the tension and plight the characters were in. Unfortunately, the plot was a bit messy for me, I had a difficult time following everything coming at me, especially in the final act. Some of the scenarios that was in this also seemed a little far fetched at times, I wasn't sure if they would play out like how they did in real life. In the end though, it's not horrible, and I would recommend to any Neeson fans out there
Super Reviewer
½ September 27, 2016
Liam Neeson plays another middle-aged superman in this frenetic movie full of overstylish action, but even if the mediocre plot begins relatively interesting, it soon comes up with a lot of convenient holes and ends with a ludicrous explanation that is more laughable than surprising.
September 15, 2016
This is a fun action thriller with a clever plot behind it that will keep you intrigued and guessing throughout. Liam Neeson does seem to be "phoning it in" performance wise a lot of the time but the movie works, has great pacing and you'll not have time to get bored. A very rewatchable movie too.
August 2, 2016
Another solid Liam Neeson movie, but, like its protagonist, is quite forgettable.
Verdict: C+
July 29, 2016
A thriller thats trully intriguing for the first half then begins to lose steam before flopping over the line as a mediocre spy thriller.
Neeson seems to be playing the same character from Taken whilst the plot seems to have taken inspiration from the Bournes.
Lack-lustre effort.
Page 1 of 340