Unthinkable - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Unthinkable Reviews

Page 1 of 90
November 18, 2017
The trailer doesn't sell this movie. This isn't a cheap action thriller.
This is a thriller. And a great one!

The movie takes a thought provoking view on a very uncomfortable subject, - without losing you along the way.

Some movie critics have claimed some of this movies aspects to be unrealistic.
But what life have taught me is, that reality dwarfs even the scariest of fantasies.

I watched the extended/full version of the movie, and the full ending made this movie one you won't forget !!

It misses the fifth star from me, because the character build up is minimal.
Maybe that was deliberate, but I would have liked to at least get to know our main charather Agent Helen Brody (Carrie-Anne Moss) a bit better, and get a glimpse into the mind of the terrorist.
Also it feels like all the money went into the design of the scenes where the interrogation takes place, leaving only a small budget for the other scenes.
And - I would have liked the movie to be 2 hours, instead of the 1 hour and 37 minutes we get.
July 4, 2017
The acting and storyline are amazing. This movie deals with issues that are very real in our war against terrorism. While there are people wishing all government and military issues should be transparent, most would not be able to handle what needs to be done in situations such as the ones presented in this film. Although I don't know if I could do the job of Samuel L. Jackson's character, I am thankful that there are people in place who can. This movie is the manifestation of Jack Nicholson's "You Can't Handle the Truth" speech from the movie A FEW GOOD MEN. Make sure to see the extended version!
½ June 13, 2017
Stupid and another super lame 'thriller'. Why is everything needs to be PC corrected and democrat party approved? Why not make the best movie/entertainment vehicle they can? No can't do that...so please waste your time if you have to much on your hands.
½ May 11, 2017
Unthinkable provides plenty food for thought but a bitter, strained, thinly-plotted story and unlikable turn from Samuel L. Jackson will make it an unpleasant watch.
May 9, 2017
Gripping thriller about a captured extremist who is tortured by Samuel L Jackson in an attempt to get the location of 3 bombs planted in the United States. Great acting, but the ending seemed too abrupt.
May 1, 2017
Need to finish the movie hate cliffhangers did they find all the bombs
April 27, 2017
You want to be on the edge of the chair and scream? One thing, you scare easy avoid being traumatized; don't watch film.

I loved it!!
½ February 9, 2017
A great movie with a completely moronic ending. You wind up watching an entire movie that literally has no conclusion so you just waste your entire time watching a movie that ends abruptly without any closure on anything the plot tries to develop. Absolutely stupid.
January 30, 2017
Torture porn. Stay away.
½ January 17, 2017
This film about terrorism and torture falls short, but will certainly start debates.
October 4, 2016
Really unthinkable movie.

Samuel Jackson is outstanding as H. as well as Carrie ann Moss (agent helen brody)
*best part.
Psychological conversation between agent brody and H. between agent brody and the terrorist yusuf

No dull moments from start till end.
must say bravo
August 5, 2016
Unthinkable is an awful excuse for a movie which attempts to be thrilling and thought provoking. The script is poorly written, containing a plethora of characters that are extremely dynamic to the point of being unrealistic. It starts off with a seemingly interesting idea: a terrorist has planted nuclear bombs across the country, is arrested, and the authorities attempt to dig the location of the bombs from him before they explode. The authorities hire a professional interrogator, H (played by Samuel L. Jackson), to torture the evidence out of the suspect. H is an unrelenting individual unfazed by violence of any severity, and as such he tortures the suspect in brutal ways. On the other hand of the spectrum is female government official Agent Helen Brody. Somehow she is a high ranking government official who is completely against the torture of this terrorist even if it means she is putting the life of thousands of Americans at risk. Throughout the entire plot of the film, Brodie hinders the interrogation process by trying to make the rest of her crew empathize with the criminal and stop the torture. This is an extreme plot hole that makes no sense. This government official is wasting precious time, bringing the world closer to the set detonation time, while risking the lives of thousands of her own people in order to empathize with a mentally deranged criminal? SPOILER: As if this mentality isn't absurd enough, Agent Brodie manages to persuade the most heartless man in the operation, H, to stop his torturing as if the entire character development of H as this heartless interrogator meant nothing. END OF SPOILERS: Furthermore, the film is actually quite infuriating to watch. We are presented with a fantastic character brought to life by Samuel L. Jackson who is sadly destroyed by a completely awful protagonist (Agent Brodie). The fact that a high ranking official would be completely content with endangering the lives of hundreds of thousands of civilians due to multiple nuclear bomb threats because she thinks its "wrong" to torture the terrorist is anger inducing. Not only is it such an unrealistic decision to make - one persons life vs the lives of thousands - but the fact that the agent chooses to spare the life of the terrorist is mind boggling. To end, this movie is "thought provoking" for the simple minded. If you ever want to feel intelligent, watch it for yourself. The writing is honestly laughable and just plain unbelievable. Really just a terrible, awful movie that I would never recommend.
½ July 28, 2016
There are parts that make you think about the current state of affairs in Unthinkable. And then there are the other parts surrounding those parts that make you think about what the hell went wrong with the screenwriting. Unthinkable has the FBI team up with an interrogator who's methods are barbaric, though they get results. It really seems like this film revels in shock value. That would be fine, but the "shocks" come in the form of lapses in judgement and jumps in logic. A character will be dead set against an action until the plot needs them to change their mind, without any second thoughts or guesses. This happens all too often, and it even leads to an exceptionally laughable and poorly thought out ending. In terms of acting, that is also all over the place. The primary three hold their own, but their poor writing has them bounce all over in terms of motivations. There are also some visual effects, but they looked like bargain bin syfy channel effects. Luckily, just like this film, they are fleeting and quickly forgotten.
July 16, 2016
Unthinkable is one of the most thought provoking movies that deals with the ticking time bomb scenario and torture ever made. What makes it move in this direction is that it gives the audience all the questions (just a few below) for them to determine afterwards what is the right answer if they can at all? It is not politically correct because it actually makes the viewer think on their own instead of preach to them.

(1) Would you torture not only an individual but their family in order to stop a bomb that could kill thousands if not millions?

(2) Is it worth giving into a demand(s) of a terrorist in order to save life's as the clock is ticking away?

(3) Where do you draw your lines and how do you determine what truly works?

Watch this movie then tell me how and if you could stop the ticking time bomb with some form of morality?
Super Reviewer
March 28, 2016
A routine thriller about finding the usual obligatory hidden bomb (ok! ok! so it's an atom bomb!) in time is given some serious teeth with the question of how far we might be willing to go in order to fight extremism. Me likey, even though the characters are often little more than simply cut-outs. The arguing over whether or not to torture or not gets to feel stagey at times, but the overall production makes its point and we have a darntootin' good time along the way. Michael Sheen is the glue that holds it all together.
February 29, 2016
Why didn't they just administer a truth drug to the bad guy to get the locations of the bombs from him...just saying ?
½ January 25, 2016
Samuel L. Jackson, Carrie-Ann Moss, and Michael Sheen all had particularly good performances in Unthinkable. However the glaring plot holes and weak acting from everyone else made Unthinkable nearly "Unwatchable".
FiLmCrAzY
Super Reviewer
December 31, 2015
An intense thriller that is thought provoking. But it's sloppy handle leaves more to be desired!
December 26, 2015
AMAZING MOVIE BASED ON TRUE EVENTS.
November 8, 2015
I MOSTLY enjoyed this movie, about a would-be terrorist threatening to blow up 3 nuclear bombs, and the fbi terrorism expert and another-expert-dont-want-to-spoil-that-for-you. Samuel L. Jackson takes a balls and all (ha!) approach to this one, what a huge risk. Ultimately, it's a bit too much grisly horror and a little too less plot. But some great suspenseful moments here..
Page 1 of 90