Up Close & Personal - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Up Close & Personal Reviews

Page 3 of 22
January 22, 2011
umm HELLO! Robert Redford....sad but great. An all time fav.
½ January 6, 2011
the soundtrack is less trying...
½ November 28, 2010
I LOVE Pfeiffer and Redford in this. Their innate charm and general prettiness totally make up for the schmaltzy, Celine-Dion-song-on-the-soundtrack, Lifetime-television-for-sad-lonely-ladies vibe that permeates an otherwise kind of interesting behind-the-scenes look at network news.
½ November 3, 2010
I thought this was a great film about real love. Most genuine love stories end dramatically. So be prepared.
September 20, 2010
I saw this movie way back in elementary years of my life and I like it a lot...........hoping I can search and find it in youtube.hehe..........
August 19, 2010
This is my favorite movie. . The movie's inspired me.About love , courage and life.I love it.
July 31, 2010
I watched it on a flight. I can't say that jetlag hit me too hard on that trip.
jimbotender
Super Reviewer
½ July 17, 2010
Here's another stereotype of the American (U.S. that is) pile of rubbish on a daily basis. I mean, compared to this, One Fine Day looks like a masterpiece! Anyway, dull process of events, I don't really care how true this topic is, when you're dealing with "huge" Hollywood actors, you expect decent performances, not a Way We Were romance mr Redford, made by such a talentless director like mr Avnet is...
½ June 30, 2010
he dies at the end.

oh whoops, *spoiler alert*

suck multiplied.
½ April 23, 2010
Best remembered by the moving theme "Because you loved me" by Celine Dion. The film itself is OK, but not unforgettale in a long line of love stories on silver screen.
getshort78
Super Reviewer
½ April 22, 2010
A story about a career television journalist who eclipses her mentor, this drama's plot resembles that of A Star Is Born, and it shares the same screenwriters as those who penned the 1976 version of that film, John Gregory Dunne and Joan Didion. It's based loosely on the real-life story of newscaster Jessica Savitch. Sally Atwater (Michelle Pfieffer) gets a job at a Miami TV station based on a demo tape from her hometown of Reno, Nevada. The station's news director is Warren Justice (Robert Redford), a former high-profile Washington newsman whose career has suffered from his insistence on integrity. He makes Sally his gofer and criticizes her clothes and appearance while she begs him for a chance to go on-air. She becomes the station's weathercaster and Warren gives her the stage name of Tally. With Warren's constant advice, she breaks into news reporting and her star rises quickly as the two become romantically involved. She takes a better job in Philadelphia, with Warren's blessing, and there she soon eclipses the anchorwoman Marcia McGrath (Stockard Channing). From there, Tally's career continues to flourish, while her relationship with Warren takes some strange twists and turns.
½ April 19, 2010
(from The Watermark, 03/02/96)
A very strange title for a film starring Redford, who only looks good these days from a long distance away. The film at first seems to be chauvinistic and predictable with Pfeiffer as an inexperienced beauty queen coming to work for TV news producer Redford at a Miami TV Station. Redford takes her under wing and "makes" her into a credible news reporter. Next thing you know, she's at the top of her field (plus Redford's girlfriend to boot), and gets a lead reporter job up in Philadelphia. The question is - can she function without Redford as her mentor and guiding light? What is most pleasing is that the humdrum beginning eventually takes shape and casts aside its sexist foundation about halfway through the film when Pfeiffer gets trapped in the middle of a prison riot. The writing and interest level continues to improve right through to the semi-melodramatic ending. Give it a fair chance to entertain you and Up Close will deliver - call it A Broadcast News Star Is Born. QUEER QUOTIENT: I just don't get this sick breeder fantasy thing that keeps pairing up Pfeiffer with old farts like Redford, Sean Connery, and Jack Nicholson. Is it some sort of grandfather-granddaughter fetish that the elderly Hollywood studio executives are trying to satisfy? Yuck!

POST-REVIEW 4/19/10: Years later I found out this film started as a biopic of journalist Jessica Savitch, though the finished product bears little to no resemblance to her life. Turns out the screenplay just kept getting more and more mutilated by the producers and the studio. Co-screenwriter John Gregory Dunne wrote a book about the experience; the book is called "Monster: Living Off The Big Screen." Kind of says it all, eh? I think this makes me like the film a little bit less, though it's not my job to criticize the process, only the product.
½ April 16, 2010
Michelle Pfeiffer, is lovely as ever, and the film may have its flaws but she sure does make up for them in this lovely film about a struggling journalist who is pushed in the right direction by Redford's character.
April 2, 2010
i loved this movie... so romantic...
½ March 28, 2010
One of my favorite movies. A good romantic drama. Still makes me cry every time.
January 25, 2010
Pleasant diversion with little dramatic or romantic tension. For a real look at behind-the-scenes hard-hitting journalism, rent "Broadcast News" instead.
½ January 24, 2010
Guilty Pleasure. Last time Redford is believable in a romance without one thinking about viagra.
January 11, 2010
eh it was ok, really sad ending
Page 3 of 22