Upstream Color - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Upstream Color Reviews

Page 3 of 7
August 17, 2013
It's a film that audiences will either loath or admire; I doubt it can be loved, too austere and distant, too dissonant, too incoherent in fact
August 17, 2013
The dialogue is sparse and much of the imagery and action is open to interpretation. I was intrigued, frustrated, repulsed, bewildered and ultimately bored
August 8, 2013
This genre-defying oddity, this magnificent cinematic poem, is also quietly a brilliant and moving love story.
August 7, 2013
A visceral, mind-bending curio...a film that leeches into
 you like watercolour on canvas; the less you know about the 
story going in, the better.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
July 12, 2013
Discussing it with people who got different things out of it has made me eager to reexamine it.
July 5, 2013
Upstream Color's mystery paralysed me.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 28, 2013
Ultimately, Carruth's tale expresses that, despite the complexity and mutability of human beings, their essence persists.
June 28, 2013
Much like the worm that's forced into Kris's body, you can't wriggle free from this film and it won't stop growing inside you as time goes by.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 27, 2013
Gorgeous, transcendent and affecting, just watch it and argue the toss later.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
June 24, 2013
A lush, deeply felt, very modern exploration of the need to find genuine connections in a cruel and (very) unusual world.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
June 23, 2013
It will leave you giddily befuddled. I've never been so swept away by being so lost.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
June 20, 2013
For those prepared to go with the abstraction, Upstream Color is a rewarding and mind-blowing experience.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 15, 2013
Shane Carruth's Upstream Color might even be better than his previous effort, Primer... [It's] a marvel of sci-fi storytelling.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
June 12, 2013
Carruth's experimental style has a certain level of artistry, and the film contains enough ambitious ideas to make it worthwhile.
June 9, 2013
A sumptuous enigma that's intricately constructed and beautifully shot, a film that would make Terrence Malick blush
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 23, 2013
It's no surprise that Upstream Color is a head-scratcher, but its untrammeled emotionalism comes as a shock to the senses.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
May 18, 2013
Carruth's complex and muted thriller is exquisitely made and acted. It's a film that challenges the viewer provoking fine existential questions.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.5/10
May 9, 2013
A cerebral, mournful mystery that resonates like a tuning fork struck on a far-off star.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
May 3, 2013
May represent a milestone in modern indie cinema, or at least a steppingstone between the smart microbudget work signified by star Amy Seimetz and the more grandiose aspirations associated with someone like -- dare I invoke the name? -- Stanley Kubrick.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
May 3, 2013
Very few movies actually invite us in, meet us halfway, or offer us something. Upstream Color does that in such a unique, singular way that it's unlike almost any other movie I've ever seen.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Page 3 of 7