Us Reviews

Page 1 of 2
November 14, 2020
The plot twists don't always add up and there are too many red herrings that create a sense of disappointment as Peele doesn't follow through.
August 16, 2020
Taking too long to get there, Peele flubs an oddly inert home invasion when the family's maniacal scissor-wielding mirror images eventually show up. Basic jump scares abound, but there's no real terror.
July 27, 2020
Scenes and set pieces begin to drag on for too long and . . . wear thin, especially once you realize that they're simple diversions from the themes Peele is trying to address.
July 24, 2020
The larger social commentary is timely, exposing the class divides of two parallel worlds. ... yet, the underlying metaphors never fully gel with the surface-level A-story plot, which is what "Get Out" did so well.
December 10, 2019
Us is lucid and frustrating, ultimately being unable to successfully execute Peele's vision on doppelgänger with true effectiveness. [Full Review in Spanish]
December 10, 2019
It's one thing for a movie to humble you by leaving you unsure about yourself and your place in the world; it's another for it to leave you wondering what, exactly, a filmmaker is trying to use his formidable verbal and visual vocabulary to say.
September 24, 2019
I love the performances, but I'm just not super sold on the script, to be honest... I'm really ready for [Jordan Peele] to be his own voice now.
August 15, 2019
Peele is haunted by his Reagan-era childhood and its pop-culture debris, which is understandable, but compulsively inserting it into his movie makes Us much less frightening than it could have been.
July 10, 2019
This film was incredibly frustrating and disappointing for me. In its efforts to try and transcend the horror-thriller genre brought the whole thing down for me. But I know a lot of people loved it.
July 9, 2019
The film plods along, repeating the same beats over and over, until Peele decides somewhat arbitrarily to just get it over with.
June 13, 2019
Peele's formal expertise has been refined, which suggests that he has been carefully studied those classics he alludes to. However, he needs more discipline to manage his pretensions. [Full Review in Spanish]
May 23, 2019
"Us" makes good use of colors, which demonstrates some originality, but I don't believe it is enough to compensate all the flaws the movie presents. [Full Review in Spanish]
May 21, 2019
The many possibilities of meaning in Us mean that it could be about everything. But by its noncommittal response to all it invokes, it feels like it's not about anything.
April 27, 2019
To give the film its due most of it is fine, unspooling as a proficient, 1980s-style horror film...But the moment the mayhem stops and the waffle begins, you quickly realise that Peele wants you to take his B-grade splatterfest very seriously, indeed.
April 3, 2019
Once you're finished hoping that humor shines through the red blood off the golden scissors, you still have to sit through Us.
March 29, 2019
An ambitious misfire, a near miss that gets lost in its atmospheric, beautifully rendered hall of mirrors.
March 29, 2019
Interpreting Peele's silliness doesn't go beyond his trivializing black American deprivation into junk-movie entertainment. And no intelligent moviegoer should be impressed by his tonier affectations, which are mere sketch comedy.
March 28, 2019
Get Out was brilliant, one of the finest movies of this decade, and I've been a fan of Key and Peele for a long time. But not every album is Revolver.
March 28, 2019
Kudos to the cinematography and the soundtrack. But it's a visual-visceral, not an intellectual experience. Unlike Get Out, the less time you spend thinking about it afterward, the better.
March 27, 2019
It feels like the whole movie could be just a sketch in a TV show or maybe an episode of an horror anthology series. [Full Review in Spanish]
Page 1 of 2