The Usual Suspects - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Usual Suspects Reviews

June 18, 2013
An imaginative, entertaining crime mystery with plenty of nerve and vigor.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
June 18, 2013
If the pleasures of The Usual Suspects are the more superficial ones of ingenuity and style, those are abundantly available. The twists and turns of the plot are an awful lot of fun, while the ending is genuinely satisfying and surprising.
June 18, 2013
In a season of fat blockbusters, a picture as brainy, bitter, and compact as this one comes as a shock and a treat.
June 18, 2013
It's a nerve-shredding suspense movie about corruption, a bravura actor's show full of deliciously twisted cops and robbers, and a complex riddle packed with unexpected turns.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
January 18, 2013
For many true movie fiends, noir is the key American movie type, and the most fun when it's done right. The Usual Suspects is done right.
March 28, 2011
I didn't believe this story for a minute, even in movie terms -- though it's less offensive than a piece of junk like Apt Pupil, Singer's subsequent feature.
October 18, 2008
A terrific cast of exciting actors socks over this absorbingly complicated yarn that's been spun in seductively slick fashion by director Bryan Singer.
June 24, 2006
Singer creates a classy, thought-provoking mystery that is pleasingly old-fashioned and absolutely modern in the sly, slightly self-conscious play it makes with myth and methods of storytelling.
May 20, 2003
This movie finally isn't anything more than an intricate feat of gamesmanship, but it's still quite something to see.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/5
May 12, 2001
The Usual Suspects is the freshest, funniest and scariest crime thriller to come along since Pulp Fiction.
February 13, 2001
But like a tale from the Arabian Nights, told for the sheer pleasure of storytelling, this elegant puzzle not only enjoys showing off, it also has something to show.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 1, 2000
The Usual Suspects is an accomplished synthesis of noir elements and, as such, is an entertaining entry to the genre.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
January 1, 2000
Next to the steady diet of Hollywood formula, contrived plots and situations a regular moviegoer can spot a mile off, The Usual Suspects is something quite different: A movie that's smarter than you are.
January 1, 2000
After following the beckoning twists and turns, you're left trapped and more than a little disappointed for getting in so deep.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
January 1, 2000
After I first saw the film, I recommended it to people as an entertaining and commercial crime thriller; a standard story done very well. And then I saw it again. The movie is so much better the second time.
January 1, 2000
The twist at the end is a corker, but crucial questions remain unanswered. What's interesting, though, is how little this intrudes on our enjoyment.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 1, 2000
Director Bryan Singer gives his film enough surface flash to entertain future late-night cable possibilities.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 1, 2000
As entertainment, the film is a lukewarm experience. But as a piece of construction, The Usual Suspects is a slick bit of business.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 1, 2000
Lots of fun and a very handsome, widescreen production by director Bryan Singer, who co-wrote the original script with once-and-future partner (and ex-private detective) Christopher McQuarrie.
January 1, 2000
Once again, my comprehension began to slip, and finally I wrote down: 'To the degree that I do understand, I don't care.'
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
August 16, 1995
Dense with plot intricacies, thick with atmosphere, and packed with showy roles for a hip ensemble, The Usual Suspects is fun to watch -- a celebration of cool actors having a good time playing sweaty and devious lowlifes.
Full Review | Original Score: B