V for Vendetta - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

V for Vendetta Reviews

Page 1 of 3051
½ June 3, 2018
4.5/5. V for Vendetta has aged extremely well and is very relevant to modern society. Apart from the 3rd act fight scene, everything about this movie is great; the acting, the story, the message. It's powerful stuff and extremely engrossing.
½ May 12, 2018
a great way of looking at the future. this movie makes you think after it's over. also made really good
May 2, 2018
It IS good. These bad reviews are government plants.
April 14, 2018
that is why it is all over. V!
½ April 14, 2018
in a twisted, 21st-century version of '1984', intriguing characters and the plot are overshadowed by baseless, self-indulged and truly anarchic political-philosophical themes. shockingly lacking the fact that communists, anarchists and nihilists everywhere always fail. ignorant film, but somehow a fun ride for the most part.
April 4, 2018
HOLY SHIT, THAT'S HOW YOU MAKE A MOVIE
March 25, 2018
A decent comic book story but one that truly offends fans of the comic (ME). I honestly found this movie stunningly bad in some parts but visually stunning and poetic at others making it a pretty unbalanced story. Natalie Portman's acting was very hard to watch but Hugo Weaving's was amazing. Some stand out scenes were the flashbacks to the detention center and the scene were he confronts the doctor. Another beautifully made moment was really the whole revolution and the flashbacks to Valerie's life.The good action scenes (there aren't many) were the scene in which V makes his last stand as he cuts through the fingermen in a vicious slow motion fight with blood flying left and right but also the scene at the news station in the hallway which was well made with V's vicious and matrix-esque fighting style. The movie was overall enjoyable and fun for the average moviegoer.
March 24, 2018
"Remember, remember the 5th of November". This is a very polarizing film. Some love it. Some find it offensive. Which side of that pendulum do I fall on? The movie is very philosophical and challenges the mindset of many types of people. The action is well done, albeit a little dated. The dialogue is very well written (especially V's). Something i enjoyed about this movie is that everything fits together and makes for a great conclusion. My sole complaint is that V's backstory is not very developed, and glossed over. Another aspect of this movie I enjoyed is that V is never unmasked. Because as he said, there is a face underneath his mask, but does it matter? Its all about what he believes in. Ideas are bulletproof.
½ March 17, 2018
Despite the leeway that you must give in the comic to film transition, I don't think it quite covers why V should be an arsehole for indeterminate or nonsensible reasons, or why the plot simply doesn't make any damn sense at times. Where Watchmen succeeds (though mostly in the extended versions), V for Vendetta fails entirely. It's still an entertaining movie, but it lacks that any sort of definitive punch, particularly in light of the open-endedness of the original comic. The music is great and the action fantastic, but under the minorly thought provoking Master Race Caste Dystopia, it's just another action flick, once and gone. If you want something meaty, read the comic. Next!
March 9, 2018
What can I say, this movie was amazing. Hugo Weaving and Natalie Portman were on their A game. It's hard to put into words how much I loved this movie.
March 1, 2018
This is kind of like libertarian porn. With its political confidence and heavy moralism, it sometimes feels like it was written by a well-read teenager who just read Brave New World for the first time. Still, its kind of a marvel of a movie: a big budget comic book film with so much style and substance that it plays more like Gilliam than Snyder. Hyper action, fun visuals, and brainy intentions? More than enough to cover some immaturities.
February 12, 2018
Visually impressive, superficially entertaining but an insidious underlying political message most will be passively oblivious to. As, indeed, was probably the intention.
½ February 6, 2018
Title: V for Vendetta
Story/Writing/Message/Plot: 4
Character/Acting: 4
Music/Sound: 3
Cinematography/Editing: 4
Age/Originality: 4
Total: 19/25

absolutely beautiful. The story, tempo, character, acting, everything is well played to bring balance and harmony in this film. Hugo Weaving's acting without any facial expression is just magnificent and due to him having a mask on, V's emotion is spoken out very well from the body language that Hugo brings in. Every minor posture change speak to us how V is feeling at the moment. It reminds me the Japanese Nou-men play where actors are to put on a mask and describe the characters feeling using their subtle body movements. We also cannot forget the mightily acting of Natalie Portman bringing in an insecure Evey who transforms into a very strong character in the end. Every actors chosen in this film is spot on and their acting do not eat away other character but brings great balance and harmony overall. I really think James McTeigue done a brilliant job uniting the team in which the end result was beauty in film form. The music also well describe the moment and executed in the best timing. This is a masterpiece I can watch unlimited time and still do not get bored out of it. Just absolutely beautiful.
½ February 4, 2018
An amazing movie, plain and simple. Hardly anything to complain about- character development, plot, supporting cast, everything is outstanding. Only one thing that could've been done better- more Sutler! Chancellor Sutler was criminally underused. But that's hardly a major issue, and does not take away from the enjoyment of the film.
½ January 17, 2018
Truly beautiful movie. There are a few minor problems I had with it (such as who helped V carry Evey back to her cell and where was she getting her clothes from while staying at his house) but other than that, it was amazing. The cinematography? is nothing special, except towards the end there is a shot of everyone in the streets that is breathtaking.
½ January 17, 2018
Truly beautiful movie. There are a few minor problems I had with it (such as who helped V carry Evey back to her cell and where was she getting her clothes from while staying at his house) but other than that, it was amazing. The cinematography? is nothing special, except towards the end there is a shot of everyone in the streets that is breathtaking.
January 14, 2018
An action packed and thought-provoking thrill ride with complex characters and stunning cinematography. Weaving and Portman give excellent performances.
January 2, 2018
It's the best film with hugo weaving i ever saw
December 30, 2017
One of my favorite movies of all time... if you haven't seen it you need to watch it.
December 27, 2017
A cautionary tail in the time of Trump.
Page 1 of 3051