V for Vendetta Reviews

Page 1 of 13
April 6, 2021
Natalie Portman's best film
February 14, 2021
Ordinary people are portrayed as zombies, glued to their television sets, who need to be galvanized by bombings.
November 21, 2020
The explosive adventure, the riveting visuals, Portman's powerful performance, and the striking finale combine for a thoroughly entertaining masterwork.
November 6, 2020
Its import rests in the muddy waters it navigates and the difficult questions it ponders.
November 2, 2020
Portman was an excellent choice to portray the vulnerable Evey who possesses an inner strength she never knew existed before she met V.
November 1, 2020
Release date frustration aside, V for Vendetta remains just as thought-provoking as ever and stands out as a highlight to the Wachowski's ability to write scenes that delight, thrill, and frighten almost all at once.
September 14, 2020
Manages to satisfy as fanfare entertainment, while astutely contemplating dark and mature themes. [Full review in Spanish]
January 8, 2020
[Alan Moore] is probably going to wish he had allowed his name in the credits alongside artist David Lloyd, because V for Vendetta has survived the transition to the big screen with its bite intact.
June 5, 2019
With such a revolutionary attitude, big themes and incendiary topics, it's amazing how bland the final product of the film can be.
January 10, 2019
A bizarre, farcical, political allegory-cum-thriller.
November 6, 2018
Although V for Vendetta doesn't have the sneaky pop sophistication of at least the first Matrix film, it does often deliver its hokum with quite a bit of flair.
February 1, 2018
If the secret police ever want to get anything out of me, all they have to do is sit me down in front of this film. I'd tell them I was the third man on the grassy knoll just to make them switch it off.
January 16, 2018
In the face of this film something adolescent in me surged to the surface and I mean that as a great compliment: adolescence is a state I hold in high regard.
January 5, 2018
V for Vendetta, based on a graphic novel, is sabotaged by its second half, which is more like V for vacuous. By the end, it's 1984 meets The Phantom of the Opera.
September 26, 2017
By leaping into fantasy and heading for its own version of a happy ending with all guns blazing, however, it blows the competition - not to mention the Houses of Parliament - out of the water.
February 14, 2017
Moore wrote the novel as a commentary on Thatcher's England and the film retains the London setting, but it only takes a few key phrases to echo the post-9/11 era and the rhetoric of the current American administration.
April 14, 2013
Speaking of love, things go blooey instead of gooey whenever heroine and hero come close enough to touch; far from being sensual, let alone erotic, the movie proves to be not much fun at all.
April 14, 2013
This is just darkness played bright, a disposable object but hardly objectionable.
April 14, 2013
The dark and stylized V for Vendetta is visually exhilarating, provocative and disturbing.
April 14, 2013
Just when we were ready to give up mainstream movies as braindead,along comes the controversial and gleefully subversive V for Vendetta, a piece of corporate-sponsored art that will have audiences rooting for a bomb-throwing anarchist.
Page 1 of 13