Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets Reviews

August 29, 2019
Visually, sure, but even those get lost in the messy, often silly, and entirely uncoupled narrative.
August 14, 2019
It lacks the definition and a good closure such as its preliminaries promised us. [Full Review in Spanish]
August 5, 2019
The problem that Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planet has plotwise is that it doesn't really have a compelling plot pushing it forward.
July 26, 2019
Unsuccessful attempts at emotional depth make the film's huge universe seem surprisingly shallow.
July 20, 2019
A city of a thousand planets shouldn't end up feeling so hollow and lifeless.
June 25, 2019
Sexist in a way that it (wrongly) thinks is cheeky-sexy-fun and devoid of any meaningful diversity, the film is seemingly set both in the 28th century and a time before women and people of color could own property.
May 21, 2019
Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets has serious structure problems, but is so lovingly made with visuals worth the price of admission.
April 27, 2019
The fantasy worlds and creatures rendered in astoundingly beautiful visual effects are worth the ticket price alone, dazzling in 3D and an immersive, imaginative delight.
April 16, 2019
The artist side of Besson absolutely nails it with the superlative spectacle. But the writer side of Besson undermines the movie with a bunch of poor decisions.
March 19, 2019
There is much to appreciate and it is undeniable that Besson's vision and commitment to universe creation is unparalleled.
March 11, 2019
I can picture this film becoming a bit of a cult classic but don't wait for that.
March 9, 2019
There is no chemistry between the leads here and it lacks dramatic tension that this film badly needs. All in, it is high on promise but low on delivery.
March 1, 2019
The plot eventually devolves into a mystery so blindingly obvious most will have it figured out before it even starts.
February 11, 2019
Unfortunately, while Besson's vision remains as vivid and unabashedly weird as ever, the visual effectiveness is undercut considerably by narrative thinness, stilted performances and a lack of character development.
January 30, 2019
Change the cast and rework the script, and it might have been a masterpiece. Instead, we're given a visual overload that's probably best served as a screensaver on televisions at a department store.
January 15, 2019
I can't understand the hate towards a well made space opera. It's fun. It's well shot. It's badly acted. Why ask more? [Full review in Spanish].
January 8, 2019
There is no excuse for dialogue like this-unless it's meant to be read as a pure parody.
December 20, 2018
Fans of Besson will be giddy with excitement because the film feels like he was able to let it all hang out, creatively speaking.
December 8, 2018
All in all, I would caution ... (those) just there to "see the visuals" to think twice ... It felt like a complete waste of time ... (and) I'm not alone in that sentiment.
November 24, 2018
Valerian is an imaginative, lavish visual feast. It's weird and wild, even wonderful. It joins a very small list of films I've seen where I was thankful to view it in 3D.