Vamps - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Vamps Reviews

Page 1 of 1
October 31, 2012
The film's comedic potential is defanged by a pervading tone of embittered nostalgia. Goody doesn't mock our smartphone-loving society with barbed affection-she just wants it to go away.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
November 1, 2012
Bold, ambitious, but it's rarely funny. Heckerling works to squeeze out a few laughs along the way, but the punchlines are soggy and the situations a little too cartoonish at times, resembling a sketch comedy show about vampires.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
November 6, 2012
Vampire comedy has cute moments but lacks bite.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
November 1, 2012
Aging is probably the real theme here, but it's approached sidelong and has no punch. Still, only the nostalgia has any real conviction.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
November 1, 2012
Vamps sends up our pop cultural fascination with bloodsucking but is itself a bit stiff with rigor mortis.
November 1, 2012
"Vamps" is mostly a misfire, but Heckerling still shows enough flashes of wit and wisdom that she remains hard to entirely dismiss.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
November 22, 2012
At times, Heckerling's script feels as though it's been sitting in a coffin, as the film takes on a campy tone with its endless array of anachronistic sight gags and one-liners.
November 5, 2012
In Amy Herckerling's film, being a vampire is ordinary rather than remarkable - which pretty much describes VAMPS.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 28, 2012
A sense of anachronism is what provides the film with its melancholy heart.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
November 1, 2012
"Vamps" teeters on the brink of not quite working and yet still routinely lands its laughs.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
November 6, 2012
While it did feel more like an extended sitcom to me than an actual film, I must say I found it fun.
November 13, 2012
A playful flick about two female vampires, city life and the huge role of screens in our lives.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 6, 2012
In an era transfixed by zombies and assorted other ghouls, Vamps is a refreshing change of pace.
November 7, 2012
Cheesy but chipper vampire comedy has modest charms.
November 9, 2012
A satire with much of the wit of her [Heckerling's] 1995 Clueless.
September 21, 2014
Evidently made on the cheap, notwithstanding the surprisingly classy cast, Vamps is a bit of a mess, but there's sweetness and wit here, too, making this a movie worth sinking your teeth into.
November 1, 2012
[This] shambling little comedy never finds a consistent groove, but it's eager to please, and has the ancient gags to do it.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Page 1 of 1