Van Helsing Reviews

Page 1 of 12
November 16, 2019
The humor, most of which comes from a monk as a comic sidekick, doesnt work here either. It just emphasizes how campy the whole premise really is.
November 3, 2019
Hugh Jackman stars as the sexiest Van Helsing to ever hit the screen. Even more impressive... is his larger than life screen presence and physicality that keeps his character from becoming overshadowed by the incredible amount of CGI and monster effects
January 4, 2019
It's this relentlessness of the action and technology that make the film more of a simulated ride. I wouldn't have boarded.
November 1, 2018
If you're prepared to overlook the canon-messing, plus the odd bit of crap dialogue or dodgy CGI, then Van Helsing is surprisingly enjoyable, with several impressive action set pieces.
November 1, 2018
Van Helsing is the epitome of an escapist movie - the kind that used to be shown on Saturday afternoon. But now, thanks to massive budgets and big-name stars, Saturday comes seven days a week.
November 1, 2018
Despite (or maybe because of) the nonstop action and the special effects, I looked at my watch a lot. This is too long and the script is nothing but segues from one action, special effect-laden, sequence to another.
November 1, 2018
What's left is a world of industrial Gothicism, nightmare morphing effects, ahistoric gadgetry and Breughel-lite grotesquerie.
October 31, 2018
By the final scene, all we care about is when Sommers will wrap up his magic act and let us all go home.
October 31, 2018
The results here are eye-dazzling, indeed, but undermined by the screenplay, a comic-book containing every cliche as well as every monster in the genre except Bigfoot and the Abominable Dr. Phibes.
October 31, 2018
Thirteen year old boys will love it. Its bound to make lots of money on its opening weekend, and is open-ended enough for a sequel.
October 31, 2018
There are a number of good ideas just visible, but they seem to have been edited to death. Where the film needed vision, there is only polite compromise.
October 31, 2018
Hugh Jackman may be able to hold his own but not by much. It's not his fault though.
October 31, 2018
I think Van Helsing is worth seeing on the big screen, if nothing else than for the audience reaction and to see the action and effects in the theater.
October 31, 2018
Sommers has talent, but no discipline or attention span.
October 31, 2018
Van Helsing itself is an unholy mix of exhumed ideas from a generation of monster movies. Unlike the monster, though, it never comes to life.
February 1, 2018
We do not care about anything or anyone, we just thrill to the next special effect.
January 9, 2018
The exteriors are fantastic, the castles mega-looming, and there's a beautiful -- if fanciful -- masqued ball which shows off to perfection the costumes contrived by Gabriella Pescucci.
August 24, 2017
If Van Helsing was meant to be a Saturday afternoon matinee fodder, it is both too ponderous to be fun and too silly to be scary.
January 17, 2016
For me, Stephen Sommers falls in the same category as Renny Harlin. He's one of the best hacks in the business.
July 19, 2014
A chaotic blur of recycled archetypes from classic horror flicks, action sequences unbound by laws of gravity and physics, and CGI special effects that somehow manage to appear ridiculously expensive and unconvincingly obvious all at once.
Page 1 of 12