Van Wilder: Freshman Year - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Van Wilder: Freshman Year Reviews

Page 2 of 11
½ June 5, 2011
Lot of the same goofy stuff from the others. Hot girls and drinking. I don't think this is anywhere near as good as the first. Still ok for a few chuckles.l
½ May 18, 2011
regular teen movie if you want to burn some time.. nothing new ive seen much much worse
½ April 26, 2011
Just like the last sequel, it pales in comparison to the first movie.

Afew laughs here and there.

It's worth watching though for Kristin Cavallari alone.

[5/10]
April 23, 2011
I always thought JB was cute.
April 4, 2011
Just dreadful! I hope there is no more of these..
½ March 28, 2011
Definitely not as good as the original, ok to watch the day after, when it hurts to think..
½ March 20, 2011
not very creative... lame.. not as gd as the first two..
March 14, 2011
This is so different to what made the original Van Wilder a success. It is less subtle, smart and witty and has been replaced with brute stupidity that will kill more brain cells than alcohol. It is a terrible prequel that intentionally makes itself a flick about booze, tits and a tool, minus everything that makes a movie watchable.
February 23, 2011
Like the Straight-to-DVD AMerican Pie sequels (this might aswell be one): It's crass and most of the jokes fall flat but it actually made me laugh more than I thought and considering how lackluster I thought the original, this one honestly isn't that bad.
January 20, 2011
It's not possible to imagine something worse than this.
½ January 11, 2011
High School Funny Shit :)
½ January 6, 2011
wasnt actually that bad
½ January 5, 2011
film sa dobre pozera napr. na chate s kamosmi ;)
½ December 5, 2010
Two words: Super Dumb.
November 22, 2010
Awful. I hated the first one too, but at least Ryan Reynolds was marginally likable.
This Van Wilder is not funny, or clever. He's just an asshole. A spoiled, rich kid, who lives a fantasy life and never fails. At least the first film had established the character, and maybe you could see girls going for him, this one has women all over him despite having zero charisma. Everything just falls magically into place for him, with little rhyme or reason.
Not to mention, his father having a complete role reversal from the first film. So he's a party guy now?

Chinese people talk funny? Way to have your finger on the pulse of comedy guys.

Basically, soft core porn wish fulfillment.
If you still high five people, collect Maxim magazine, and use the word "brah", think a great Halloween costume this year would be a "sexy" anything, you'll love this movie.

If your knuckles don't drag on the ground, you'll hate it.
November 1, 2010
Some funny stuff but not a worthy 'prequel' to it's precesors, it's to off point and idealistic. The way Jonathan as Van lives up to almost everyone's imagination can get anoying two, never-the-less that's what makes it all intresting. A lot of stupid humor and unnessesairy things happen, mostly evading from the main point. I found it hard to keep up with, could have another reason involving some drugs :p but still, this is off. You can verywell injoy it though!
September 20, 2010
Wow this is one film that shouldn't of been made .. Jonathan Bennett is no Ryan Reynolds

2 star rating is only for the cast of good looking ladies that are in it lol
½ September 19, 2010
nice one
really loved how everything was build up. it's was something different and totally unexpected. altho the end was kinda predictable.
the film itself was really funny.

the acting was good, love Johnathan Bennet and Steve Talley
½ September 18, 2010
Raunchy (and fairly gross) version of a chick flick! Prolly made to appearl the male segment ... but wateva ...
½ September 17, 2010
This is why prequel's r gay. Both the main guy and the hills chick were painful. Decent nudity and gags, but it's been done. Funny seeing the guys from American pie and road trip sequels in this.
Page 2 of 11