Vanya on 42nd Street - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Vanya on 42nd Street Reviews

Page 2 of 2
January 1, 2000
A film which reduces Chekhov's "Uncle Vanya" to its bare elements: loneliness, wasted lives, romantic hope and despair. To add elaborate sets, costumes and locations to this material would only dilute it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
January 1, 2000
In terms of dramatic action, almost nothing happens, and yet Malle's fluid, invisible style carries us deep into the hearts and minds of these characters.
January 1, 2000
The overall effect of Uncle Vanya on 42nd Street is that one has just experienced something truly timeless.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 1, 2000
I've never really seen anything like Vanya on 42nd Street.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
January 1, 2000
It is not a happy movie, but it is a very thought provoking one.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
January 1, 2000
The performances here are all knockouts, with a perfect ensemble cast, and Malle, using subtle moviemaking technique, keeps things moving so that we hardly realize we are stagebound for nearly two hours.
January 1, 2000
Even if you don't get everything there is to get, it's an incredibly unique film worth seeing.
| Original Score: 4/5
January 1, 2000
A lovely, intimate rethinking of Anton Chekhov's Russian classic Uncle Vanya.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 1, 2000
Amore traditional performance with the same actors would have gotten a higher rating.
Full Review | Original Score: low +2 out of -4..+4
January 1, 2000
Vanya on 42nd Street is a superior interpretation of a fantastic play, but I couldn't quite shake the conviction that I really should have seen it on 42nd Street.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
June 13, 2005
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
April 16, 2004
Read More | Original Score: 5/5
February 8, 2004
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
May 20, 2003
| Original Score: 4/4
December 18, 2002
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
July 31, 2002
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
Page 2 of 2