Reviews

Oct 6, 2021
It's really silly... it's still a lot of fun.
Oct 2, 2021
This is the one with the most teeth and most tater tots.
Sep 1, 2021
Episode 11: Moving On
Aug 17, 2021
The first half hour of the film feels very rushed, as if the director is trying to get all the backstory and all the set up out of the way, sucking away all the emotional investment that the viewer is supposed to have.
Jul 13, 2021
Venom offers a nice reminder that there's still a lot of entertainment to be had in a film that just wants to be crazy fun -- and then delivers on that promise.
Apr 29, 2021
A flawed beast that feels 10 years out of time....
Mar 1, 2021
It feels unintentionally funny, as if all the actors except for Hardy understood they were acting in a generic comic book movie. He's a hoot, the movie isn't.
Feb 17, 2021
This could be the most inane Marvel put on the screen.
Dec 7, 2020
After the horror and comedy disperse, the film transitions into an action picture, full of flurries of CG tendrils and sludge.
Nov 10, 2020
In the end, I'd avoid this film. It's a film without intent and carrying little enjoyment or entertainment factor.
Oct 28, 2020
Has some fun set-pieces and worked around the lack of Spider-Man well, but the finale is disappointing and every character who isn't Brock is rather dull and one-dimensional.
Sep 26, 2020
If you don't allow yourself to surrender to it all? You're going to hate Venom.
Aug 30, 2020
Predictable and repeated story. Venom without Spider-Man is lame. The film relapses into the absurd and gives us 0 connection between Eddie Brock and Venom. [Full review in Spanish]
Jul 25, 2020
[I]t all feels so constrained by its PG-13 rating, and with the anarchy appearing so anesthetized, it's up to Hardy to carry the picture to the finish line.
Jul 18, 2020
Venom is basically The Mask with a slobbery tongue and none of Jim Carrey's slapstick charm.
Jul 17, 2020
Venom feels like something Sony made so they could retain control over one of the few aspects of the Spider-verse they still owned. Without Spidey to anchor the storyline, though, it just feels adrift.
Jul 5, 2020
It's worth focusing your attention on Tom Hardy's amazing, physical, and enthusiastic performance. [Full review in Spanish]
Jun 30, 2020
I can't say I like Venom and I can't say I hate Venom, but I am glad I watched it. It's a bizarre slice of schlock insanity that's simultaneously the product of out-of-control interference by the studio and the singular dedication of Tom Hardy.
Jun 23, 2020
I suppose one could say that about just about any bad movie, but Venom's energy and a couple of its performances elevate it above the worst of the worst... It's also a very bad movie, make no mistake.
May 20, 2020
I didn't hate this movie... I had a fun time.