Veronica Mars - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Veronica Mars Reviews

Page 1 of 7
Rebecca Pahle
The Mary Sue
September 20, 2016
As a whole, I loved the movie. It felt like filmed fanfic, and I mean that in the best possible way: No pretension.
Nathan Bartlebaugh
The Film Stage
June 21, 2016
Veronica Mars retains all of the humor and intriguing human dimension it possessed while on the air.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Jason Bailey
June 18, 2016
It's basically a two-hour episode of the show. And I mean that as the highest compliment.
Tom Gliatto
People Magazine
April 25, 2016
The tone is exactly right, and the passage of a few years has been good on everyone's looks.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Graham Young
Birmingham Mail
October 10, 2014
Despite its middle-class magnolia feel in one respect, it has some sharp lines, twists and turns, revived characters, a neat score and good jokes about Warner Bros' stalwart Clint Eastwood.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Wesley Lovell
Cinema Sight
September 5, 2014
A return to the admired television series is equal parts fun and frustrating.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 1, 2014
It's not much of a movie, but it's a mostly good time with old friends.
Full Review | Original Score: 6.0/10
Greg Maki
Star-Democrat (Easton, MD)
June 19, 2014
It's hard to say how "Veronica Mars" will play to the uninitiated, but it's everything a fan could want.
Full Review | Original Score: A
Mike McGranaghan
Aisle Seat
May 7, 2014
A film like this always raises the question of whether newcomers can enjoy it, as they are unarmed with an understanding of the characters' histories and all the references that are surely contained within the screenplay. In this case, the answer is yes.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Jeff Beck
May 5, 2014
The Veronica Mars movie is sure to delight the legions of fans of the show, while also acting as a satisfying mystery for those who are just meeting these characters for the first time.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Michael Dequina
April 21, 2014
Such an appealing heroine makes it easy for anyone, existing fan or not, to be entertained by this yarn.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Lori Hoffman
Atlantic City Weekly
March 26, 2014
Bell slips back into her Veronica character with ease, and while newbies to the franchise might wonder what the fuss was all about, the "Marshmallows" are happy.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
MaryAnn Johanson
Flick Filosopher
March 25, 2014
I've never seen the show that spawned it, but it was still exactly what I was expecting. I am neither overwhelmed nor underwhelmed by it. I am whelmed.
Ken Hanke
Mountain Xpress (Asheville, NC)
March 25, 2014
Let's be honest, this movie is for the fans.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Bruce Diones
New Yorker
March 24, 2014
The film is an obvious labor of love for all concerned, and the good times are infectious.
Felix Vasquez Jr.
Cinema Crazed
March 21, 2014
Veronica is still the spit fire and quick witted Amazon who lands on her feet in every situation no matter how awkward or dangerous.
Philippa Hawker
The Age (Australia)
March 21, 2014
The film even manages things neatly at the end: we get a mixture of closure and openness, in which things are rounded off, yet there's still the possibility of another adventure.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Robert Denerstein
Movie Habit
March 21, 2014
Strictly for fans of the show
Top Critic
Brianna Wellen
Chicago Reader
March 20, 2014
The uninitiated may not go for the all-too-convenient crime solving, melodramatic love triangle, and playful banter, but cultists will find all the show's pleasures intact.
Chris Morgan
Paste Magazine
March 20, 2014
Until now, Veronica Mars has been that movie that got funded by that Internet site. Now, it's just a good mystery movie with snappy dialogue. That's an even nobler thing to be.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.7/10
Page 1 of 7