Videodrome - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Videodrome Reviews

Page 2 of 135
June 21, 2016
Well. Looks like I'm not into kinky torture sex.

Case closed.

Some random notes I took until half way through:
Rick Baker!
Gnarly detail
Sleazy shows
Something tough and will breakthrough
Stimulation for our own sake
The retina of the mind's eye
Torture AND porn!
James woods knows love making
Nikki is into some kinky s
½ June 6, 2016
Videodrome is such a disappointing movie with a solid first half and such a terrific and original premise, but the execution is awful with too much gory and plain repulsive sequences, unlikable characters and an unfortunate emphasis on gore instead of good storytelling. It had a great potential, but it was wasted with those poor choices and it ended up being a very frustrating movie.
Super Reviewer
½ June 3, 2016
"I don't get it..."
"Don't worry about it."

"So it's been a hallucination since the beginning?"
"Don't worry about it."

"I'm totally lost, can you explain it?"
"Don't worry about it."
June 3, 2016
One of Cronenberg's best hands down. A film with many layers and a brilliant social commentary on technology and desensitization. Decades ahead of it's time and one movie I never get sick of watching.
½ May 13, 2016
This movie is f**ked up but quite mesmerizing.
May 12, 2016
This is a transitional film for Cronenberg. It's the last film he made that bears the marks of his early style, and it points to the direction he will eventually (but not immediately) go in. While I have great admiration for the ambition it displays, it doesn't completely succeed for me, and is one of my least favorite of his early films. Only "Scanners" really works even less for me. What he's doing here is very similar to what he does later in a film like "Naked Lunch", or even "Spider" I guess, where an unreliable narrator affects the film in ways that makes everything depicted questionable. My issue with "Videodrome" is that the reality of the film breaks down to the point that I don't think anyone can really say what's really happening in the last 20-40 minutes of the film. Is that a serious problem? No, and I still think it's a remarkable film, but I think Cronenberg demonstrates less control over this film and it's subject matter than he does over earlier and subsequent films.
½ April 28, 2016
I've noticed that during the late 70's and early 80's, Cronenberg directed and wrote a bunch of horror cult films, but this one really brings us to a whole new level of weirdness. It's a completly strange and pretty though-provocing movie, but it's good. The acting is good and the special effects are just so campy and classic and there's some nice blood effects in there too. And James Wood is perfect for the role. Recommended !!
April 15, 2016
Long live the new flesh...
April 10, 2016
First of all, I may be a little bias when writing this, as this is one of my favorite films OF ALL TIME.
If I had to describe Videodrome, I'd say it was a cryptic, surrealistic nightmare based in biotechnology, social commentary (which is actually more relevant now!), and oh so much psychosexuality. The movie is stacked full with bizarre sequences and conversations, and even though you might not get it at first, you can't help but be entertained by the sheer weirdness of it all. Despite the crazy practical effects and gruesome images, Videodrome has alot to offer in the way of story and message. It warns of possible violation of our own individuality and perception of the world through the media we consume and its format. It also brings up really interesting philosophical ideas on how we see reality and what defines the phrase "real life".
From the first viewing, the imagery will stick with you and make you want to watch it again, in which case the story and ideas will start to soak in more completely and soon you'll find yourself assimilated into the collective of fans of Videodrome...or at least that was my situation.

LONG LIVE THE NEW FLESH!!!
April 3, 2016
It would be interesting to see if Cronenberg were to remake Videodrome set in the present day, how different it would be.The central theme of our interaction with media (or maybe medias interaction with us) translates differently in 2016.

Something just felt a bit off throughout the movie, and I don't think it was intentional. The way that the hallucinations came and went felt very unnatural and not so much in a disorienting way, but more of an issue with how the movie was edited...
March 3, 2016
The films of David Cronenberg - at least the ones billed as products of the "body horror" subgenre - always achieve a certain sort of impressive unpleasantness. Never are they necessarily scary, explosive, or even blackly funny. They stew in a concoction of emotionless carnage and metallic surrealism more ominous and disturbing than directly intense. We sit as an uncomfortable, sullen witness, prone to wincing as there isn't much else to do. It's eerie without the eventual emotional crescendo we might expect in a typical horror closer; it doesn't feel like a horror film so much as it does an inexplicable nightmare you'd rather forget than dwell on.
And so I give props to Cronenberg for making a fright-fest incomparable to his peers, but that doesn't mean I necessarily like "Videodrome." It's too abstractly unpleasant for me to arrantly recommend it, since most will likely have a similar reaction. But it does what it sets out to do quite smashingly, which is to devise a television satire more reflective of a macabre tale of terror than, to be outrageously broad, "Network." Whether you venerate it all or not is up to fate, and I just so happen to be one of the few who feels the need to take a hot shower and watch a couple hours worth of '90s sitcoms after viewing, just to get the unshakable feeling of abhorrence off me.
It stars James Woods as Max Renn, a TV producer who runs CIVIC-TV, an underground Canadian station that specializes in the spotlighting of softcore pornography and brutal depictions of staged violence. Well-aware of audience fascination regarding such horrors, Renn is conscious that his consumers are on the brink of tiring of the same old standardized faux taboos. So his world lights up when he accidentally discovers "Videodrome," a plotless television program from Asia that looks and feels like snuff, torture and murder its most prevalent features. It must be phony, Renn tells himself, but in the context of a David Cronenberg film, we know that this mostly likely isn't the case. But Renn, being too optimistic in a profession that should be cutthroat, foresees the program as being the future of frowzy television.
Before making the final decision as to whether he should air the program or not, though, Renn makes the regrettable mistake of becoming addicted to the series, which ends up being much more sinister than he might have at first believed. As it turns out, the feed is coming from a mysterious location in Pittsburgh, and has, similarly to the supernatural tape in "Ringu," dramatic physical and mental impact on the viewer. Shortly after his introduction to "Videodrome," Renn begins having bizarre hallucinations, ranging from images of his TV coming to life to his stomach disfiguring into something reminiscent of a VCR. Things only grow more grotesque the more Renn delves into the situation.
"Videodrome's" plot thickens as it wears on, covering the devastations of governmental conspiracy, media dependency, and forthrightly strange malice, and their blending together leaves us distinctly uneasy. Never frightened, but aflutter, a feeling of all-powerful danger following our every move, unable to be stopped. Enigma is key to the fears of the film, and the more erratic it gets, the more violent it gets, the more tremulous we become. It isn't hair-raising in varying bursts akin to "Halloween" or "Suspiria"; "Videodrome" has an incessant rumbling of disquiet lingering throughout every scene.
But I hesitate to say that I felt anything but disgust during the entirety of "Videodrome." Watching it again sounds about as appealing as only eating undercooked meat for a week, and I wouldn't want to inflict such pain onto myself or my readers. My experiences with Cronenberg have been nothing less than uneven over the years; I love his spectacularly screwy "eXistentZ," like his take on the gangster movie, "Eastern Promises," and actively loathe his widely praised "Dead Ringers." For once, "Videodrome" carries the feeling of indifference that I so desperately try to avoid when watching movies. I hold it in high regard, its craftsmanship, performances, and imagery intriguingly unwonted. But when reflecting upon a movie, one question always stands out as being most potent: did I like it? No. But there's a lot to admire.
February 3, 2016
Innovative for its time This movie is a social commentary about television and its effect on society. James Woods plays the lead in this twisted and surreal film. The ending left me scratching my head.
January 22, 2016
O dono de um canal de televisão pouco conhecido recebe fitas de vídeo com conteúdo violento e sadomaso como uma sugestão de programação. Ao assistir a fita, as pessoas entram num transe e interagem com a televisão de uma maneira erótica.
December 30, 2015
A brilliant masterpiece by David Cronenberg and an underrated film. "Videodrome" is a fantastic film, intriguing, weird and bizarre, everything you can expect from a Cronenberg film. Visually stunning with a fantastic use of practical effects," Videodrome" takes an interesting step in portraying technology in an unique way to make a commentary on the world's reliance in technology.
½ December 29, 2015
Compared to the other Cronenberg fim I've seen recently (Shivers), this is a masterpiece, it's really just an interesting film. In the context of 80's US horrors, it's quite a weird one. Debbie Harry put's in the best film performance I've seen from her. The subject matter is a little concerning but the film doesn't go very far down the wrong route so it's alright. The story is a bit dumb, I think it's a cynical reflection on TV viewing habits and the dangers of watching disturbing stuff.
½ November 25, 2015
Loved it. A weird look at suggestibility through tv with a dash of 80's politics. Also if anyone would've told me how much naked Debbie Harry there was, I'd have seen this a long time ago.
November 19, 2015
A very engaging beginning, but that feeling gets lost between all the conspiracies and whatnot. Maybe it should be a bit longer so it wouldn't feel so rushed.
November 15, 2015
This is probably David Cronenberg's best movie. Extremely underrated and well ahead of it's time, it could have easily been a book written by William Burroughs or James Ballard.
The thematic of this post-modern masterpiece is once again the classic Cronenberg obsession with the ways technology completely transforms the human body and soul (and vice versa). Do not mind the cheesy trailer (80s) and don't miss the opportunity to enter the Cronenberg universe in it's most complete form. Long live the new flesh!

Grade: A+
November 10, 2015
Compelling sensuality.
½ November 8, 2015
Deeply disturbing horror from Canadian director David Cronenburg.
The film features scenes of extreme visual hallucinations caused by a fictitious video cassette program called Videodrome.
Basically the main character Max Renn (James Woods) is the CEO of a small Toronto television station that specialises in broadcasting sensationalist/soft porn/horror output.
Renn comes across a new show idea called Videodrome based on illegally viewed output from a supposedly foreign country but is eventually revealed to be orifinating from Pittsburgh.
Viewing the sadistic Videodrome program causes a cycle of hallucinations and brain injury.
Renn succombs to these. In order to escape the 'spell' of Videodrome he must turn into an assassin. Killing his colleagues and the people behind Videodrome. (Are you keeping up?)
The film features some awesome special effects from make up specialist Rick Baker (Star Wars Episode IV and Planet of the Apes).
If the Conservative Canadians were shicked by Cronenburgs debut feature in 1975 then this must quite literally blow their torsos open!
Shocking.
Page 2 of 135