Videodrome - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Videodrome Reviews

Page 2 of 136
½ February 27, 2017
A scummy television producer becomes obsessed with a pirated brainwashing snuff broadcast, leading to abdominal vagination & a new career as an assassin.
½ February 19, 2017
Idiosyncratic David Cronenberg movie on the influence of the modern media and TV in particularly on people. It's nice to see Debbie Harry in the role of a BDSM obsessed radio star.
January 6, 2017
Larga vida a la nueva carne.
½ December 27, 2016
Almost convoluted but thrilling and horrific at the same time.
December 14, 2016
This creepy 1983 movie is unlike sci fi films today, this films switches from reality to trippy mind games which grabs your attention fast but you can drown easily in confusement if you miss 1 second of detail. More movies like this should be made today.
November 22, 2016
This is a really fun, often icky body horror film with some really interesting ideas and great practical effects. I liked how Cronenberg went from a structurally conventional sci-fi horror film (Scanners) to an unconventional, provocative, and totally original body horror movie. I liked the ideas discussed in the film, I liked how unique and different it was from any horror film I've ever seen, and even when the violence got splattery, it didn't take me out of the film. It's not for everybody, but the fans of Cronenberg would cherish this audacious piece of work. I liked it a lot!
½ October 24, 2016
Very original flick, crazy how this is from 1983 and yet still seems relative today. Woods and Harry have really strong showings. Long live the new flesh.
October 15, 2016
Great Art and Social Commentary withstands the test of time. Long Live the New Flesh!
September 13, 2016
It has more than a fair share of exploitation, but thats the very idea this unnerving techno-reality mystery seeks to explore.
½ September 8, 2016
(1.5 stars)
Definitely one of the weirdest films ever been created. A man watches a videotape. Man goes crazy. Any proper attempt on my part to explain the premise would be futile. Possibly hidden behind the surreal, complex and down-right bizarre are insightful comments on television brainwashing. 'Videodrome' also acts as further proof that practical effects remains genuinely scarier than computer technology. Therefore to say it was a bad film due to my lack of understanding would be short-sighted; nevertheless, the level of confusion I experienced undeniably had a severe impact on its entertainment value.
August 16, 2016
David Cronenberg's "Videodrome" is great! It mixes body horror with crazy tech stuff and surrealism, and the mixture is really entertaining and weird. Cronenberg nows how to use special effects that are creepy and strange, and he isn't afraid to just had flat out weird ideas. Highly recommend this crazy movie from the 80s, it is both weird and horrifying and fun.
½ July 2, 2016
35%
Saw this on 2/7/16
Videodrome starts well, it could have been many things: a social allegory or a potent observation of violence in society, but instead David Crorenberg had to go way up into his asshole with the totally unnecessary body horror cliches. Drome feels like the most senseless body horror film from Crorenberg.
June 27, 2016
Such a stupid movie!!! What a waist of time!
Film C.
Super Reviewer
June 26, 2016
I love the practical FX, I still don't know how David Cronenberg made it but I have to say, good acting, best animation sequences.
June 21, 2016
Well. Looks like I'm not into kinky torture sex.

Case closed.

Some random notes I took until half way through:
Rick Baker!
Gnarly detail
Sleazy shows
Something tough and will breakthrough
Stimulation for our own sake
The retina of the mind's eye
Torture AND porn!
James woods knows love making
Nikki is into some kinky s
½ June 6, 2016
Videodrome is such a disappointing movie with a solid first half and such a terrific and original premise, but the execution is awful with too much gory and plain repulsive sequences, unlikable characters and an unfortunate emphasis on gore instead of good storytelling. It had a great potential, but it was wasted with those poor choices and it ended up being a very frustrating movie.
Super Reviewer
½ June 3, 2016
"I don't get it..."
"Don't worry about it."

"So it's been a hallucination since the beginning?"
"Don't worry about it."

"I'm totally lost, can you explain it?"
"Don't worry about it."
June 3, 2016
One of Cronenberg's best hands down. A film with many layers and a brilliant social commentary on technology and desensitization. Decades ahead of it's time and one movie I never get sick of watching.
½ May 13, 2016
This movie is f**ked up but quite mesmerizing.
May 12, 2016
This is a transitional film for Cronenberg. It's the last film he made that bears the marks of his early style, and it points to the direction he will eventually (but not immediately) go in. While I have great admiration for the ambition it displays, it doesn't completely succeed for me, and is one of my least favorite of his early films. Only "Scanners" really works even less for me. What he's doing here is very similar to what he does later in a film like "Naked Lunch", or even "Spider" I guess, where an unreliable narrator affects the film in ways that makes everything depicted questionable. My issue with "Videodrome" is that the reality of the film breaks down to the point that I don't think anyone can really say what's really happening in the last 20-40 minutes of the film. Is that a serious problem? No, and I still think it's a remarkable film, but I think Cronenberg demonstrates less control over this film and it's subject matter than he does over earlier and subsequent films.
Page 2 of 136