The Secret Life of Happy People (La Vie secrète des gens heureux) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Secret Life of Happy People (La Vie secrète des gens heureux) Reviews

Page 1 of 2
April 19, 2012
I dont care to watch.
June 19, 2011
C'est là qu'on voit que la réalité n'est pas toujours comme on le pense! J'ai bien aimé..
July 14, 2009
The DVD case had eight palm-type thingies to indicate that movie festivals liked this film. I'm not sure what they liked. Maybe it was a slow year. In spite of my two-star rating, this is not a bad movie. I would have given it three stars had my expectations not been so high. Stupid box. None of the characters are likable. The shy son was annoying and he looks like that Spider Man actor. The father was gross. The mother was a downer. The girlfriend was evil. And the best friend was useless. The only person I didn't hate was the little girl. She was okay. Skip this one.
June 25, 2009
Franchement, j'ai trouvé ce film terrible, sur tous les niveaux, que ce soit la réalisation, les acteurs, le scénario... La seule raison pour les quelques étoiles est le personnage principal, qui ressemble a certaines de mes connaissances.
May 12, 2008
5 etoiles c'est pas assez... maudit bon film... Serieux Steph, moi j'ai adore! Pour un premier long metrage, c'est super! (J'ai ma copie à la maison, il ne manque plus que ton autographe dessus! hahah ;))
February 26, 2008
Un film interessant qui vaut la pein d'etre vu. Le jeu des acteurs est juste. Il y a des rebondissements qui nous surprennent. Bravo!
February 6, 2008
I dont care to watch.
January 25, 2008
bon cru quebecois, juste un peu tordu...
January 20, 2008
Interesting film. From early on you just know there is something sinister going on and then you find out and I think it was the cruelty of it that kept me watching the whole thing. It was a good movie even if there was nothing remarkable about the acting, it was mainly the story line. By the end of the movie it just seems like everyone is getting screwed over and then there is the ending. I didn't mind it but I think it would've been fine if it had of finished at a certain point without that extra part but still not a bad movie. Interesting.
½ January 18, 2008
What wouldn't this father do to rule (or should I say ruin) his son's life?

Interesting story, really felt sorry for Thomas and little Charlotte through the movie - I thought the movie drew some interesting similarities between the two lives of the child and Thomas, as they both really had no control over how they were both being used and left behind to some extent.

The satirical/dramatic screenplay was well written and respected it's audience - you could sense things without being told. Although this may have seemed to make the film predictable, it didn't really ruin the story.

Very well written.
January 14, 2008
Un film ingenieux qui n'a pas de remettre en question nos valeurs familiales et notre relation par rapport au bonheur. Le scenario demontre bien jusqu'ou les individus sont pret a aller pour etre heureux au point d'oublier ce qu'il y a de positif dans leur vie. Les personnages sont credibles, troublants et attachants.
November 22, 2007
Un excellent film dont j'ai l'impression d'être le seul à avoir vu!!!Louer-le!!!!!
½ November 18, 2007
Film intriguant. Un peu prévisible mais ça vaut la peine.
Super Reviewer
October 14, 2007
Loved it. A great movie made in Quebec.
½ August 31, 2007
I found this movie amusing, profound, goodly directed, sad by moment and with character with a quiet desperation and an intense dsire. Good one!
½ August 26, 2007
suprise du cinéma québécois cette année
½ August 20, 2007
Excellent premier film!
August 12, 2007
Jusque-là cachée par un humour très efficace, l'émotion frappe sans prévenir.
July 22, 2007
Excellente réalisation
Page 1 of 2