Vile - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Vile Reviews

Page 1 of 5
November 30, 2016
Light Torture - movie , maybe seen dozen of movies like this ...mostly liking them .....this was just good enough ! SOMDVD
February 10, 2016
Frustrating, gory and predictable. Exactly what I wanted.
½ June 19, 2015
Definitely the goriest movie I've ever seen... Just another copy of Saw. Don't expect anything different from the other torture porn flicks this movie compares to.
½ April 6, 2015
After watching 4 of the Saw movies back to back, you'd be amazed that I would want to sit through yet another film that revolves around torture. However being a Horror mega fan, you got to keep up with the trends and follow its output. This largely unknown film, Vile, is actually 700 times better than any of the Saw movies put together and its all down to decent acting, an interesting story line and characters who you really care about. Not as potent as Would You Rather, Vile still manages to pack quite a gut punch for pretty much all of the movies run time. When a group of friends are duped into a hostage situation, filled with other victims, they find themselves awake in a strange boarded up house and a video tape, as well as having 2 viles connected to their brain. The video explains that in order for these victims to survive and escape, their brain must release a certain amount of chemicals, only induced by pain, like adrenaline. Once the meter is full, they can all go home. The reason for this bizarre ask, is funnily enough so the people behind this can make a very unique drug that sells for an extremely high price on the market. Its a pretty original take on the genre and completely shows up the nonsensical god complex of Jigsaw in the Saw franchise. First off the characters are all really well written and performed. Of course there are your typical inclusions like the scared vain girl, the woman that cares for no one else but themself and the heroic boyfriend but all of them are handles with a competant amount of character and sub text. Especially with the 4 friends who we cant introduced to at the start, this film allows us to get to know our victims, makes us care about them and ultimately seeing them torture themselves or worse and the lengths they go to in order to protect one another is great. Having all the characters spin off one another and have their own inner turmoil as the situation soon spirals out of control, is painful to watch and the violence is handles excellently. Practical effects all the way, real, genuine and raw moments of edge of your seat gasps will be had watching as they dip their arms in boiling hot water, rip each others nails out and do worse. The director also knows when and what to show us, he doesnt shy away from the gore, yet he is tasteful enough to not glorify the violence, this isnt a film about watching how people try and hurt other people, this is a film where people are forced to do the unthinkable to survive and that adds so much more power to the over all piece. The cinematography is wonderful, a lot of it is shot in hand held, not shaky cam, allowing a sense of urgency and adrenaline. The directors use of macro shots and lighting are all brilliant and the edit is also fine tuned so the entire thing continuously flows. The opening sequence especially seems wonderful and dream like, really harking on that indie movie feel. The music as well is wonderful, instead of go for sharp and uncomfortable shrieks and slices, it plays country music, stringed instruments and really emotional stuff, working excellently to either contrast or accomodate the visuals. This film is a tough and enduring watch, not for the feint hearted, yet it still manages to fall short on a few notes. For 1 this has little replay value, its not because of any huge twist at the end, its because its really harrowing to watch, you feel like your in there with the characters, so once its done, you really dont want to delve back into the hell they just endured. There is a small twist at the end, which although is acceptable, just doesnt add up to the rest of the films standards and feels more of an attempt to be tacked on for twists sake. The ending itself as i said is done with enough direction but it quickly in its closing minutes starts to get a little uninspired before the rolling credits. This is a hard movie to recommend, its a tough watch, its bleak, its raw and for some people it may be just too much or too preposterous, I can see the Saw fans pissing all over it due to its lack of inventive torture, but thats not what this film is about and if you stick with it and really take it in, its a very well made experience, is it a brilliant film? No, but as an edge of your seat look at the idea of torture and black market drug dealing, its pretty harrowing.
March 7, 2015
It's a very poor attempt at Saw II. It's the exact same premise and everything. I dare say the acting and story is worse.
January 30, 2015
For what it's worth, the movie kept me entertained.
½ January 20, 2015
sämsta skiten nånsin!!
½ December 10, 2014
Great idea for a movie, casting was awful!
October 29, 2014
Terrible "horror" movie
½ October 14, 2014
This giant turd mines the worlds of Saw and Martys, but thanks to some godawful acting and a mediocre script it never quite manages to draw you in.
August 31, 2014
You'd think that by now, with the Saw series over and done with, nobody would want to revisit this genre. And yet, this formulaic, by-the-numbers gorefest takes a swing and a miss. Even the most sadistic viewer having a bad day won't get any enjoyment out of this. Avoid.
July 28, 2014
aff.... storyless!!!
½ June 22, 2014
A repetitive, boring exercise in watching people torture people without any real payoff or thrills worth more than 5 minutes of your time. Mildly fascinating cast and oddly interesting uneven score, but it none of these really redeem the film's utter tedium.
½ June 1, 2014
Basically your ordinary mystery gore thriller. First of all the acting in this movie isn't really all that good, pretty average, and then there's the plot. Simple as can be, have a really crazy adrenaline rush to fill the vile (title of the movie). 10 people go through excruciating pain just to stay alive, but here's what got a little chuckle out of me. I read on IMDb that one of the characters in the movie said they could just all have sex with each other in order for the adrenaline bar to rise. He would've been right, that just made me chuckle a little. Anyhow there really isn't much to say about this movie, it's pretty straight forward. Would I watch this again.....uh probably not. It's one of those types of films where once you know the ending, there's no point in watching it again. This was a very shirt and to the point review but if I go into detail about it it's gonna ruin it for you. Either way. Recommended to watch it once and after that then I'd say Unrecommended
May 16, 2014
Very very gruesome, but good for someone who likes gore
May 14, 2014
Pretty good movie, although it reminded me of one of the Saw movies. Didn't exactly see the way that it ended coming, and there were quite a few painful moments that made me look the other way. If you're into gore and pain type horror movies, check it out.
February 4, 2014
I like the plot of Vile but had to look away at parts because it was just too disgusting. Just an excuse to use fake blood if you ask me and possibly a waste. Too stupid for my taste. D-
½ January 6, 2014
The only satisfaction you will get out of this film is when the gang of beautiful people finally tortures Tara after she kills one of the characters you actually like.
½ September 14, 2013
Vile (Taylor Sheridan, 2011)

You can give Taylor Sheridan, with whom you are probably much more familiar in front of the camera (among other things, he plays Deputy Hale on the hit TV show Sons of Anarchy), one undisputed point about Vile-the title is one of the finest examples I am aware of where truth in advertising is concerned. Vile, Sheridan's first appearance behind the camera, is a pointless, plotless, ridiculous piece of torture porn that's supposed to get its originality from, shall we say, the method of delivery (which may be considered a spoiler, but what the hell, we'll go there). I can't say for certain it's been done before, but while I was watching it, and ever since, I had the distinct impression I'd seen it somewhere else. I've put off writing this review far too long attempting to come up with it and haven't, unfortunately, but once I realized I was wasting far too much time trying to figure it out, I ditched the attempt and sat down to write this.

Plot: bunch of young folks locked in house by crazy person (Weekend's Maria Olsen, fast becoming one of the most recognizable faces in Z-grade horror). They have to cause each other extreme pain in order to free themselves. Yeah, that's about it, though there's an entirely predictable plot twist about 90% of the way through the movie that you'll never, not in a million nanoseconds, see coming.

Actual reasons you may want to watch this movie:
1 You're a fan of one of the cast members (Olsen, Kyle XY's April Matson, Shutter's Maya Hazen, and The Dark Knight Rises' Ian Bohen are the movie's most recognizable faces; Tool vocalist Maynard James Keenan also turns up in a brief cameo).
2 You're on a quest to see every torture porn movie ever made. You, my friend, are a masochist, and I feel for you.
3 You still believe that Taylor Sheridan can do no wrong.

I can't help you with the first two, but if you're watching it for reason #3, be prepared for a major letdown. Everyone else should stay as far, far away from this movie as possible. 1/2
September 3, 2013
even though having very basic knowledge of stress hormones and how they are produced kind of makes this movie dumb as fuck, i really enjoyed it. it was definitely unpleasant but i like when a movie is sick enough to make me cringe because it doesn't happen often. i thought most of the acting was good too.
Page 1 of 5