The Village - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Village Reviews

Page 1 of 11
August 24, 2017
The Village reminded me not so much of Hitchock but Scooby Doo. When at the end of that cartoon it was revealed that glowing skull creature was actually Old Mr. Higgins the caretaker, it pissed me off even as a little kid.
October 31, 2016
'The Village' is among Shyamalan's salvageable films, in which he uses ignorance and superstition to keep a group of people in the woods away from evil creatures. [Full review in Spanish]
January 17, 2016
different than anything else that's playing at the moment
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
December 29, 2010
Thought-provoking thriller too intense for some.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 29, 2009
Gripping, creepy, and very well acted with a great breakout performance from Bryce Dallas Howard...
October 18, 2008
M. Night Shyamalan keeps the story vague enough to work up to his plot twist, and while I won't reveal it here, I will say that I don't think the payoff is worth it.
August 7, 2008
Shyamalan remains ever the master of mood and of unseen, inchoate menace; he can give depth and gravity to scenes that in other hands would be either boring or ridiculous.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 4, 2008
The Village is not completely awful, but it comes closer than one would like to admit.
December 27, 2007
The would-be surprise only makes you rethink the reason you went to see the movie in the first place.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
August 5, 2007
Village idiot.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
November 10, 2006
In a time when Hollywood is more interested in remakes and sequels than in original movies, Shyamalan continues to tell new stories. And he's really good at it.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 22, 2006
Dangerously dour.
July 5, 2005
I'm not sure exactly why I'm protecting the Shocking Twist, because it certainly doesn't deserve to be protected.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
May 4, 2005
It's hard to care about situations that have been designed only to obscure the ultimate twist.
Full Review | Original Score: F
April 2, 2005
Picturesque, slightly haunting but silly in a frustrating way.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
April 1, 2005
A timely mention of the ways that violence begets violence, and in how effective terror can be in keeping people under control.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
March 5, 2005
Shyamalan can't brings himself to abandon the familiar. Until he does, however, he's just going to keep coming back with diminishing returns.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
February 5, 2005
It is not a bad film, despite its goofy plot, thanks to top-flight acting.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
January 13, 2005
[The love story] between the two young, uncorrupted stars suffuses the entire movie and has made me forgive, if not forget, the movie's flaws.
December 31, 2004
... a Sleepy Hollow-like folk tale that is light on character development and heavy on symbolism and suggestion.
Read More | Original Score: B
Page 1 of 11