The Village - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Village Reviews

Page 1 of 11
October 31, 2016
'The Village' is among Shyamalan's salvageable films, in which he uses ignorance and superstition to keep a group of people in the woods away from evil creatures. [Full review in Spanish]
January 17, 2016
different than anything else that's playing at the moment
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
December 29, 2010
Thought-provoking thriller too intense for some.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 29, 2009
Gripping, creepy, and very well acted with a great breakout performance from Bryce Dallas Howard...
October 18, 2008
M. Night Shyamalan keeps the story vague enough to work up to his plot twist, and while I won't reveal it here, I will say that I don't think the payoff is worth it.
August 7, 2008
Shyamalan remains ever the master of mood and of unseen, inchoate menace; he can give depth and gravity to scenes that in other hands would be either boring or ridiculous.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 4, 2008
The Village is not completely awful, but it comes closer than one would like to admit.
December 27, 2007
The would-be surprise only makes you rethink the reason you went to see the movie in the first place.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
August 5, 2007
Village idiot.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
November 10, 2006
In a time when Hollywood is more interested in remakes and sequels than in original movies, Shyamalan continues to tell new stories. And he's really good at it.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 22, 2006
Dangerously dour.
July 5, 2005
I'm not sure exactly why I'm protecting the Shocking Twist, because it certainly doesn't deserve to be protected.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
May 4, 2005
It's hard to care about situations that have been designed only to obscure the ultimate twist.
Full Review | Original Score: F
April 2, 2005
Picturesque, slightly haunting but silly in a frustrating way.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
April 1, 2005
A timely mention of the ways that violence begets violence, and in how effective terror can be in keeping people under control.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
March 5, 2005
Shyamalan can't brings himself to abandon the familiar. Until he does, however, he's just going to keep coming back with diminishing returns.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
February 5, 2005
It is not a bad film, despite its goofy plot, thanks to top-flight acting.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
January 13, 2005
[The love story] between the two young, uncorrupted stars suffuses the entire movie and has made me forgive, if not forget, the movie's flaws.
December 31, 2004
... a Sleepy Hollow-like folk tale that is light on character development and heavy on symbolism and suggestion.
Read More | Original Score: B
December 27, 2004
...an enigma to which each viewer must bring something and from which each viewer will most likely take something away. In my case, I brought a lot more than I took away.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
Page 1 of 11