Rip-Off (Virgin Territory) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Rip-Off (Virgin Territory) Reviews

Page 1 of 1
½ December 15, 2013
Brilliantly written and skilfully directed with a cast of then-unknowns, Rip-Off is the definitive 'youth' movie - a hidden gem that never really got the credit it deserved. Uproaringly hilarious at times and painfully poignant at others, it's a remarkable study of the things that young people do for affirmation. Don Scardino stars - he now diredcts 30 Rock and it also includes the brilliant Mike Kukulewich and Toronto sportscaster Peter Gross
March 17, 2013
From the same team that delivered the all-time Canadian classic GOIN DOWN THE ROAD. Follows four Toronto high school seniors and their attempts to find anything to identify with--film, rock band, drugs, girls, commume, etc. Provides an interesting glimpse of Canadiana from that era. Shamelessly released to video in 1987 as VIRGIN TERRITORY with a misleading box cover suggesting a teen sex film.
October 27, 2012
Canadian film about four high school guys trying to figure out what to do after graduation. Will they become filmmakers? No. Will their rock band make it? No. Will they go to university? Looks doubtful.
July 19, 2011
Canadian film about four high school guys trying to figure out what to do after graduation. Will they become filmmakers? No. Will their rock band make it? No. Will they go to university? Looks doubtful.
January 3, 2010
Omg 2 fave parts made me lauph ... The barn with the cows and the sluty milk maids, And The Kids Wet Dream in the forest This is a rilly QT show !
½ August 2, 2009
I disagree with the other reviewers, i found this movie hilarious. Sword fights, sex, and naked women....you cant go wrong with that. It is something to watch when you want a good laugh, i highly recommend it to anyone who likes movies with a good sense of humor and a dirty mind. I guess i can see why people relate it to an american pie, but i dont think thats a bad thing.
½ September 4, 2008
[font=Microsoft Sans Serif][size=3]TiTTiES!!!![/size][/font]
September 4, 2008
This is awful! [i]American Pie[/i] meets [i]King Arthur[/i]! A band of people in medieval garb who try to have as much sex as possible while trying madly to cover up the fact that they should be chaste. AKA virgins trying desperately to be sluts.
Hayden Christensen suits the character of Lorenzo to a T, but Mischa Barton supplies the usual English accent and morally righteous character as always. Where is the variety???!!! Wake up and smell the horseshoes and cow dung!!
However, the fight scenes between Matthew Rhys and Tim Roth is superb. Well done on that account.
September 2, 2008
like i said before, American Pie set back in the 14th century gone so so so wrong. I felt like an idiot for watchin the whole movie.
September 1, 2008
:rotten: [b][color=yellowgreen]1/2[/color][/b] (out of four)

[QUOTE]If [b][i]The Princess Bride[/i][/b] had been softcore porn, this might be what you get. [/QUOTE] This movie would like to be a rowdy sex romp set a few hundreds of years ago in Britain, but it is mostly just an excuse for the characters to disrobe. If you only want eye candy then this might work for you, but as a film, it is simply resistable.
½ August 24, 2008
It has its moments, but for the most part it doesn't work. Fine production values, nicely acted, but it has too many slow stretches and I had a difficult time staying interested in it.
June 2, 2008
Virgin Territory has the intelligence and well crafted writing of a bad porno without the sex. The plot was moronic, it was supposed to be a comedy (supposed to be). Many of the accents were really bad (was that supposed to be funny?). The ending was kind of stupid, and cheesy. The movie kind of reminded me of American Pie, only without the comedy and in medieval times. Some things this movie did have going for it was the female actors and the abundance of titties.

Normally I will explain the plot of movies in my reviews, only their isn't any? Ok well the plot goes like this Hayden Christensen pissed of this guy who is trying to kill him. So he runs away, pretends to be dumb and deaf so he can hook up with nuns. A girls father dies and the guy who is pissed off at Hayden Christensen wants to marry her. The girl doesn't want to marry this old guy, and was supposed to marry this Russian guy. The Russian guy hooks up with a naked chick in the river who he thinks is the girl that the guy who is pissed off at Hayden Christensen also wants to marry. The retarded plot continues like this for a while, and in the end the guy that is pissed off at Hayden Christensen dies. It's one of thoughts super super happy endings, only by that point in the movie you really don't give a crap.
Page 1 of 1