Vivah - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Vivah Reviews

Page 1 of 28
September 10, 2016
Watched this film after it was recommended by a friend and seeing the rave reviews from industry 'experts' I though it would be entertaining.

First the good:
Excellent acting from all the actors, especially the two leads of Amrita and Shahid, and they have good chemistry between them so the scenes feel all the more real. The supporting cast had a lot of screen time which is uncommon in a love story and it wasn't overplayed so kudos to the director and script writer for that.

Now the bad, and the reason for my low score. The story itself is weak and played a lot of clichés from classic bollywood films ( any of the scenes where the two have to sneak off to talk as an example, or how quickly the characters change from shyness to comfortable). It had the over the top gratitude of the father of the bride, the benevolence of the much richer father of the groom, the illogical hatred of the aunt over her neice's beauty compared to her daughter and her husband making zero effort to address it.

Its a shame because the film could have been so much better, it feels like the script was rushed through and the actors had to do their best with it.
½ January 11, 2015
Love story in the most traditional, innocent, and purest sense.
April 13, 2014
Warning:
Rape culture
February 9, 2014
It was like the Bollywood version of The Notebook. Too gooey for me! (First and only viewing - 1/19/2014)
November 30, 2013
One of my favorites!
½ October 21, 2013
What is LOVE. It is the most spectacular,indescribable, deep euphoric feeling for someone.

Love is an incredibly powerful word. When you're in love, you always want to be together, and when you're not, you're thinking about being together because you need that person and without them your life is incomplete.

This love is unconditional affection with no limits or conditions: completely loving someone. It's when you trust the other with your life and when you would do anything for each other. When you love someone you want nothing more than for them to be truly happy no matter what it takes because that's how much you care about them and because their needs come before your own. You hide nothing of yourself and can tell the other anything because you know they accept you just the way you are and vice versa.

It's when they're the last thing you think about before you go to sleep and when they're the first thing you think of when you wake up, the feeling that warms your heart and leaves you overcome by a feeling of serenity. Love involves wanting to show your affection and/or devotion to each other. It's the smile on your face you get when you're thinking about them and miss them.

Love can make you do anything and sacrifice for what will be better in the end. Love is intense,and passionate. Everything seems brighter, happier and more wonderful when you're in love. If you find it, don't let it go.
One word frees us of all the weight and pain of life:

That word is love.
June 18, 2013
Awesume movie!.. a must watch family movie! :)
April 5, 2013
i'm a sucker for this one
March 26, 2012
in a whole new world when bollywood was just learning about complex plots and special effects, we always need a proof that simple at heart movie also works and who better than Sooraj Barjatya can do it. ONe of his best films.
October 7, 2011
this is really an interesting n cute movie which touches m heart deeply.... i luv the concept n the way it was presented... well done director and i think it wont b that much perfect if Shahid n Amrita were not in lead....<3
½ September 28, 2011
9/27/11 Quite a boring movie. Very melodramatic in a not very touching sort of way.
July 7, 2011
i'm a sucker for this one
January 27, 2011
this film very romantic and the story full of sad beside wide imagination
January 25, 2011
No words to say. m totally speechless about their pure love, affection and romance. best music, direction and best couple. i can watch it again n again.
October 5, 2010
Heartbreaking but wonderful love story.
October 1, 2010
best movie ever................watched it so many time...but still love it
September 10, 2010
i like yhis movie very much
August 28, 2010
lovely movie and love shahid kapoor superb!! just fantastic.............
August 10, 2010
A fantastic movie! Absolutely loved it. The story plot is beautiful, and very touching. It's very enduring, and heartfelt. The relationship between two families are wonderful to see in this movie, as well as the very touching belief an uncle/father has for his daughters. All daughters should not be seen as a father's burden. I think this is definitely a beautiful thought, no matter of what culture. This movie reflects a great love a father has for his daughters, despite one not being of his own (but that of his brother's). It's also fascinating to see a character like Prem, a man, loving his true love despite what she may look after her accident. Loving her truly within, despite her outer physical appearances. Great movie by Sooraj R. Barjatya. Shahid Kapoor and Amrita Rao show definite promises, as they have in their likely characters. Seema Biswas is phenomenal in this movie. what a fantastic movie, yes a very traditional arranged wedding, but it is not forced. It is also a great example of a great father that was able to explain to his son why he need to marry before his career even started, and i great example of an uncle who never see the different of a niece and a daughter but he treated his name as his daughter. And a great example of a real man who love a woman not just beause of her outer beauty but her entire being, its a very excellent movie a good example of a good character of a good gentleman, and i loving good woman. awsome.
Page 1 of 28