Voices of a Distant Star - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Voices of a Distant Star Reviews

Page 1 of 20
July 4, 2015
Most touching anime short I've ever seen, hands down. Saw this a while ago, just found it again today, saving onto myanimelist so i dont ever forget it.
June 17, 2014
Incredible and beautiful
July 23, 2013
Beautiful. One cannot often say that about a sci-fi war film with mechs both in an emotional and visual sense. It's short, but sweeter than most full length features can ever hope to be. Ultimately it is a love story and one hell of a love story at that.
½ April 7, 2013
This little animated gem is as gorgeously animated as it is deeply heartbreaking. Bring a tissue, turn down the lights, and marvel. Absolutely breathtaking.
February 10, 2013
Pure melancholy and teenage angst at the thought of separation, IN SPACE!!!!!!!!
September 13, 2012
A sci-fi story about love, made with such subtleness and deep emotional impact that its simply breathtaking and heartbreaking at the same time. When a girl is sent on to fight aliens in deep space, she promises to stay in touch with her love, a boy, who stays on Earth at the time. However, due to non-stop movements deeper and deeper into the vast space, her messages arrive much later than they should. With perfectly adequate visual style and animations, and a bunch of truly saddening one-liners, the story shows a story about two brave teenagers, and love lost for the sake of greater good. A masterpiece from Makoto Shinkai.
August 2, 2012
This is most likely the most touching and moving half an hour you could spend watching a movie. What Mr. Shinkai accomplishes in terms of establishing intimacy and heartache between his two main characters in this is phenomenal, simple, and precious in nature.
July 29, 2012
It's astounding to think one guy animated all this on a home computer (although it shows in some scenes). Quite short, and a real heart-breaker of a storyline. Question: why is Mikako still in her school girl outfit in the army?
May 12, 2012
A contender for best short film ever made.
½ January 28, 2012
A short film that I would like to see fleshed out some more. It evokes many memories of science fiction anime past, but was too condensed for me to follow to the extent that I would have liked (the english subtitles were often to fast for me to keep up with, so i felt like i was missing things). That said, the visual detail was almost enough to remedy my text-based difficulties. In short, excellent, but too fast for me.
December 29, 2011
Fantastic. Poignant, bitter-sweet drama that leaves me blubbering like a 6 year old girl every time i watch it. Best watched in the original Japanese i think.
December 2, 2011
7 meses de trabajo, 25 minutos de animacin, un loco y su computador.
November 24, 2011
i liked how the themes of alienation and loneliness are brought out so strongly in this short sci-fi anime. a very touching masterpiece.
½ November 24, 2011
a beautifully-rendered short about a (truly) long-distance relationship and the emotions amid the busyness and inter(planetary/stellar) divide. Waiting half a day for an sms to get thru from Pluto/Charon is possibly bearable, but 8+ years? are they (on) sirius!?! looks like we'll have to tap these FTL-neutrinos pretty soon ;-)
August 8, 2011
For an animated short film made completely by Makoto Shinkai alone, when he was still an amateur, this is exceptional. Some of the art is raw and rough, but taking into account that this was made entirely by Shinkai himself, and is his first real work, this flaw is easy to overlook. The beautiful visuals and the emotionally compelling plot shows that Shinkai at his very essence, with almost no money and absolutely no staff, can still make something visually and emotionally beautiful.
June 21, 2011
The most touching, emotional, romantic (but not at all sappy), breath taking anime I have ever seen. I have never seen such power and beauty rolled up into 25 minutes. A must see for not just anime fans, but anyone who wants to witness an amazing story. The animation and effects were brilliant as well.
June 16, 2011
Considering almost all of this was made by one person on his computer (in 2002) this is a stunning 25 minute anime. Beautifully animated, although slightly let down by the sappy nature and the use of standard anime characters...
skactopus
Super Reviewer
½ June 8, 2011
Makoto Shinkai takes the romance and layers it with science fiction to create a short animation with a suitable title, Voices of a Distant Star.At a brief 25 minutes, this animation packs a punch when it comes to story concept and character. The idea of text messaging with cell phones through space is highly amusing. As the characters grow, their text messages travel years through space to reach their destinations, which creates some emotional interactions between the two leads.The science fiction space battles, while not the highlight of the film, are fun and backed with some excellent sound effects. If there is one thing lacking here, it is the build up of the Tarsian aliens, although they are background when it comes to the relationship between Mikako and Noburo.There isn't much to the voice work, since there are only 2 characters and one "operator" that need voices. All that needs to be said is Mika Shinohara, Makoto Shinkai, and Donna Burke get the jobs done.Voices of a Distant Star is easily a film to make time for. Give it a try. It's only 25 minutes.
½ April 20, 2011
kalo pengen cari film" galau, i really recommended this one.

This is really a masterpiece
½ April 8, 2011
?..?거 (C) <,,.<카? 1/2"?~ 2002... '!
Page 1 of 20