Walking With Dinosaurs - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Walking With Dinosaurs Reviews

Page 1 of 4
James Plath
Family Home Theater
April 3, 2016
The problem isn't the animation, which has been accomplished and, at times, jaw-dropping. It's the concepts and the writing.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Chris Stuckmann
ChrisStuckmann.com
April 23, 2015
All narration and childish fart jokes should've been removed from this movie, and then, perhaps the children in the audience would actually learn something.
Full Review | Original Score: D-
Jeff Vice
Cinephiled
May 12, 2014
"(A)beautifully animated but plot-thin kids film that borrows heavily in the story department from both the Land Before Time and Ice Age movies, as well as various Disney animated classics."
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Mike McGranaghan
Aisle Seat
March 28, 2014
Walking with Dinosaurs 3D has gorgeous, meticulously detailed CGI, but also way too many stupid jokes about poop and puke.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Dann Gire
Chicago Daily Herald
January 9, 2014
I realize scientists can't prove dinosaurs didn't communicate telepathically, but I suspect the filmmakers' decision to go telepathic stems more from financial concerns than artistic or scientific ones.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Matthew Toomey
ABC Radio Brisbane
January 9, 2014
Some of the character transformations are rushed (such as that of Patchi's older brother) and I don't quite think there's enough here to keep youngsters entertained.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Linda Cook
Quad City Times (Davenport, IA)
January 7, 2014
As I gazed, slack-jawed, at the fantastic visuals of wWalking With Dinosaurs,' I could not fathom how it came to be paired with the hideous, low-brow dialogue. And then I think I figured it out.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 5, 2014
The film should have been called Walking Very Slowly With Dinosaurs. And as well as being shown in 2D and 3D, the posters should have included that the film can also be seen in Zero D, which is the format you experience the film in when you fall asleep.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Simon Foster
Screen-Space
December 31, 2013
[The] inevitable big-screen brand expansion of the Walking with Dinosaurs property proves to be as slickly-packaged an endeavour as you'd expect from any franchise entrant.
Graham Young
Birmingham Mail
December 27, 2013
With no attempt at lip-synching, the detachment of the voices from the main characters is more supernatural than 3D.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Ken Hanke
Mountain Xpress (Asheville, NC)
December 26, 2013
An educational show with the addition of a moronic plot and a lot of poop and flatulence gags.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Susan Granger
SSG Syndicate
December 23, 2013
Unfortunately dopey, it's a nonsensical, mind-numbing disappointment.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
Top Critic
Todd Gilchrist
TheWrap
December 23, 2013
an insufferable family adventure whose impressive animation is consistently undercut by cartoonish self-awareness.
Mark Kermode
Observer (UK)
December 22, 2013
Pop-up infomercials introducing each new character remind us that there's an educational remit lurking somewhere in the background, but the primary thrust is light, breezy and a little bit bitey.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Mark Ellis
Schmoes Know
December 21, 2013
My dream has always been to "Walk with Dinosaurs", but if they're this shallow and annoying, I'll just stick with looking at their skeletons.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Kristian Harloff
Schmoes Know
December 21, 2013
Sure, it's aimed at kids, but as much as they all love dinosaurs...subjecting them to a film this annoying won't do anything but dampen that enthusiasm.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Donald Clarke
Irish Times
December 21, 2013
Hey kids. Do you want to have fun and learn at the same time? Do you? Do you? Of course you don't.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Jay Stone
Canada.com
December 20, 2013
Directors Neil Nightingale and Barry Cook have created a gorgeous visual feast, with computer animation that is superimposed on real-life settings, giving Walking with Dinosaurs a unique look of reality.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Gary Wolcott
Tri-City Herald
December 20, 2013
Kids crazy about dinosaurs -- find me one who isn't -- will love this one.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Frank Swietek
One Guy's Opinion
December 20, 2013
An ambitious effort to meld learning and entertainment that ultimately works as neither.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Page 1 of 4