War Horse Reviews

Page 1 of 11
Sean Burns
Philadelphia Weekly
May 3, 2015
Etched in the simple, bold strokes of a passed-down fable. Resistance is futile.
Justin Craig
September 25, 2013
Steven Spielberg's "War Horse" is an imperfect film, but certainly is a beautiful one.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Glenn Dunks
September 8, 2013
They will keep trying and trying until only the blackest of hearts are left un-moved. I guess I should hand in my organ donation card because I clearly don't have a heart judging from the dismissive reaction I had to this patently artificial film.
Al Alexander
The Patriot Ledger
May 25, 2013
For sublime equine you'd be hard pressed to find a better mount than 'War Horse.'
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Ben Kendrick
October 2, 2012
War Horse offers a number of memorable moments both tragic and profound.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Jeff Beck
September 18, 2012
Leave it to the great Steven Spielberg to be able to inject a great deal of heart into a story about a boy and his horse.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Kristal Cooper
We Got This Covered
September 15, 2012
It's too bad that Steven Spielberg's latest film War Horse doesn't quite live up to the example set by its majestic titular character.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
August 25, 2012
Its epic length is the one thing you're guaranteed to take from the experience.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
William Bibbiani
August 22, 2012
A two-and-a-half hour sightseeing tour through David O. Selznick's junk drawer.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/10
Mark Pfeiffer
Reel Times: Reflections on Cinema
August 17, 2012
While made with great technical proficiency, War Horse is determinedly old-fashioned in how Spielberg tells the story, which is a fitting creative strategy considering that the film studies the convergence of the old and the modern.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Kevin Carr
7M Pictures
June 8, 2012
God bless Steven Spielberg, who knows how to push my buttons.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Blake Howard
2UE That Movie Show
May 8, 2012
War Horse is a fine film, helmed by a fine filmmaker all too aware of how to pull the audience's strings.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Peter Canavese
Groucho Reviews
April 6, 2012
"How Green Was My Valley, How Smart Was My Horse." [Blu-ray]
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Fr. Chris Carpenter
Movie Dearest
April 3, 2012
What is a simple, World War I-era tale of a boy and his horse on the page and stage becomes bloated in Spielberg & Co.'s hands. Benefits from stunning cinematography and an excellent supporting cast.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Roger Moore
Tribune News Service
March 23, 2012
It is a vividly detailed depiction of a time, a place and a conflict.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
James Plath
Movie Metropolis
March 23, 2012
In tone and in the way that the narrative unfolds, it's a throwback to a more romantic era of filmmaking-when making feel-good movies wasn't anything to apologize for.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
March 22, 2012
If it doesn't quite manage to tap the well of emotion that this type of film aims to access, it's because of problems inherent to the basic pitch, rather than the execution.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 10, 2012
After the recent disappointment of a few donkey movies, director Steven Spielberg gallops back onto the big screen with a cinematic stallion in War Horse.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Steven D. Greydanus
Decent Films Guide
February 22, 2012
[Not] entirely satisfying … Somehow, though, the sum of the parts are more than the whole … It is a film of a kind we don't see any more, that it would be good to see more of.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Joseph Proimakis
Movies for the Masses
February 17, 2012
full review at Movies for the Masses
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Page 1 of 11