War Horse - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

War Horse Reviews

Page 1 of 12
September 18, 2017
As engaging as "War Horse" is, and it is engaging, Spielberg oftentimes resorts to big, John Williams' music-enhanced, wide-screen moments to manipulate the emotion that the story should have been able to elicit on its own.
September 6, 2017
War Horse has an unapologetically nostalgic feel which will appeal to an older audience.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
June 29, 2017
War Horse is about war, and it is about the ways that animals can teach us to be more human. It's too long, but it is inspiring.
May 3, 2015
Etched in the simple, bold strokes of a passed-down fable. Resistance is futile.
September 25, 2013
Steven Spielberg's "War Horse" is an imperfect film, but certainly is a beautiful one.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
September 8, 2013
They will keep trying and trying until only the blackest of hearts are left un-moved. I guess I should hand in my organ donation card because I clearly don't have a heart judging from the dismissive reaction I had to this patently artificial film.
May 25, 2013
For sublime equine you'd be hard pressed to find a better mount than 'War Horse.'
Full Review | Original Score: A-
October 2, 2012
War Horse offers a number of memorable moments both tragic and profound.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 24, 2012
It's about as manipulative a film has Steven Spielberg has ever made - a movie that's been custom-designed from the ground up to play a sad harp solo on the heartstrings; a story cynically told to invoke as many tears as possible.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
September 18, 2012
Leave it to the great Steven Spielberg to be able to inject a great deal of heart into a story about a boy and his horse.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
September 15, 2012
It's too bad that Steven Spielberg's latest film War Horse doesn't quite live up to the example set by its majestic titular character.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
August 25, 2012
Its epic length is the one thing you're guaranteed to take from the experience.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
August 22, 2012
A two-and-a-half hour sightseeing tour through David O. Selznick's junk drawer.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/10
August 17, 2012
While made with great technical proficiency, War Horse is determinedly old-fashioned in how Spielberg tells the story, which is a fitting creative strategy considering that the film studies the convergence of the old and the modern.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
June 8, 2012
God bless Steven Spielberg, who knows how to push my buttons.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 8, 2012
War Horse is a fine film, helmed by a fine filmmaker all too aware of how to pull the audience's strings.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
April 6, 2012
"How Green Was My Valley, How Smart Was My Horse." [Blu-ray]
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
April 3, 2012
What is a simple, World War I-era tale of a boy and his horse on the page and stage becomes bloated in Spielberg & Co.'s hands. Benefits from stunning cinematography and an excellent supporting cast.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
March 23, 2012
It is a vividly detailed depiction of a time, a place and a conflict.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 23, 2012
In tone and in the way that the narrative unfolds, it's a throwback to a more romantic era of filmmaking-when making feel-good movies wasn't anything to apologize for.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Page 1 of 12