We Are Marshall - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

We Are Marshall Reviews

Page 1 of 7
Brian Webster
Apollo Guide
September 17, 2007
A sentimental, simplistically inspiring movie that leans heavily on Matthew McConaughey's substantial energy and charisma for its success.
| Original Score: 73/100
March 24, 2007
What allows We Are Marshall to stand above many of the other 2006 sports movies is both the undeniable power of the story itself and the strong ensemble McG gathered to tell it.
Todd Gilchrist
IGN Movies
March 21, 2007
We Are Marshall is the kind of movie that not only believes in the goodness of humankind, but makes you believe it, too.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Frank Lovece
Film Journal International
March 1, 2007
That McG makes it vital and energetic, and not morose or preachy, shows a director on top of his game.
Dan Lybarger
January 18, 2007
'We Are Marshall' is both better than it has a right to be and still feels somewhat disappointing.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Rob Thomas
Capital Times (Madison, WI)
January 18, 2007
As exciting and well staged as the on-field action is (finally, a football movie gives the field goal kicker the respect he's due!), I was more taken by what was happening off the field.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Greg Maki
Star-Democrat (Easton, MD)
January 16, 2007
... A heartfelt tribute to those who died and those who lived.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Jim Lane
Sacramento News & Review
January 4, 2007
...sincere performances help to put over some of the inspirational cliches...
| Original Score: 3/5

Baltimore Sun
December 30, 2006
Full Review | Original Score: B

Film Threat
December 30, 2006
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Steven Snyder
Zertinet Movies
December 27, 2006
There's genuine emotion in this movie, and wide-ranging ones at that. There's the shock of loss, the struggle in moving forward, the fear of failure and the joy of putting one's passion into a good cause, regardless of the results.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Bob Bloom
Journal and Courier (Lafayette, IN)
December 27, 2006
Subtlety is not a word in this director's vocabulary. The odd thing is, the story is so powerful that you don't really object to McG's methodology.
Full Review| Original Score: 2.5/4
Jeanne Kaplan
Kaplan vs. Kaplan
December 27, 2006
I loved this movie. It is never overly sentimental.....it is simply the honest tale of a rebirth of a community deeply in pain.
Full Review
David Kaplan
Kaplan vs. Kaplan
December 27, 2006
The film's second half is the more traditional and expected practice field/game day footage, where we follow the fortunes of the team ----- scenes we've all seen before.
Full Review
Top Critic
Richard Roeper
Ebert & Roeper
December 26, 2006
Unlike a lot of sports movies, it doesn't end with a championship or a great upset over a powerhouse. The real victory on the Marshall campus was in fielding a team that honored and respected the legacy of the 1970 team.
Jeff Otto
December 22, 2006
We Are Marshall has plenty of heart. Unfortunately, that heart is dipped in a vat of caramel and topped with marshmallows.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Kam Williams
Black Star News
December 22, 2006
Bittersweet football flick less concerned with gridiron feats than with how members of a tight-knit community deal with their grief in the wake of a disaster.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Pete Hammond
December 22, 2006
This unforgettable and incredible true story of tragedy and triumph in the face of overwhelming odds is a striking testament to the power of the human spirit.
| Original Score: 4/5
December 22, 2006
Touchdowns, tragedy and triumph... all the elements of a sports flick with heart.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
David Poland
Hot Button
December 22, 2006
A surprisingly sturdy little film.
Page 1 of 7