We Are Marshall - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

We Are Marshall Reviews

February 3, 2007
Full Review | Original Score: 2/6
December 30, 2006
Full Review | Original Score: C-
December 30, 2006
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
December 26, 2006
Unlike a lot of sports movies, it doesn't end with a championship or a great upset over a powerhouse. The real victory on the Marshall campus was in fielding a team that honored and respected the legacy of the 1970 team.
December 22, 2006
We Are Marshall isn't about grief or loss, but how these things can be overcome. It's uplifting, but shallow.
Read More | Original Score: C+
December 22, 2006
This was undeniably a horrific event for the victims' families friends, colleagues as well as for the entire community. But the movie seems to almost exploit this tragedy so it can make audiences weep, and ultimately, cheer.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
December 22, 2006
What's missing is any kind of insight into the lives of the dead players or the members of the Young Thundering Herd who rise up to replace them.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
December 22, 2006
A series of montage and anecdotal vignettes follows as they recruit a whole new team, learn lessons from the catastrophe, lose and then win, with plenty of sentimentality sprinkled over the whole thing.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
December 22, 2006
We Are Marshall is a bit of a shame, because the subject matter could have been something special in the hands of stronger filmmakers.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
December 22, 2006
We Are Marshall (it's the rally cry of the team) doesn't always have a handle on the grief, but it does keep emotions close to the surface. That allows McConaughey to be the most refreshing, funny and believable he ever has been.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
December 22, 2006
We Are Marshall is the kind of crassly formulaic movie in which everything hinges on a single play in the final seconds of a big football game.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/5
December 22, 2006
A better film would have acknowledged the limits of sport and discovered that when you're in mourning all you can do is distract yourself, either by hard work (on the part of the surviving teammates) or meaningless entertainment (the fans).
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
December 22, 2006
It looks like every inspirational sports movie we've seen in the last five years.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
December 22, 2006
Equally thrilling and wrenching, the film is an absolute must for anyone who loves sports and an eloquent explanation for those who don't understand what the fuss is about.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
December 22, 2006
Every lump it puts in your throat is fully earned.
December 22, 2006
An entirely serviceable night out for buddies looking to locate hidden feelings.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
December 22, 2006
As sincerely felt as it may be, We Are Marshall still comes off feeling contrived and superficial.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
December 22, 2006
Too bad the film doesn't sustain the mix of sorrow and hope the story requires.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
December 22, 2006
Matthew McConaughey injects some much needed life as the oddball coach who sets out to rebuild the football squad, and David Strathairn, Ian McShane, and Robert Patrick do their best with sketchy characters and artless dialogue.
December 22, 2006
This is the rare football drama (Friday Night Lights is another) that gives you a sense of what football means to a town.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
December 21, 2006
The film is emotionally affecting without being particularly distinguished.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
December 21, 2006
As the world's biggest sucker for uplifting jock movies, I can heartily endorse the skillfully manipulative We Are Marshall.
December 21, 2006
McConaughey's performance is oddly comic but actually serves to counter more traditional interpretations of a stoic coach leading his charges.
December 21, 2006
It's a powerful subject, but director McG and screenwriter Jamie Linden haul out every cliché in the playbook.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
December 21, 2006
Among sports movies, We Are Marshall scores enough for respectability.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/5
December 21, 2006
A depressingly mechanical sports drama that seems not to have been written and directed so much as home assembled, Ikea-style, by pictorial instruction.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
December 21, 2006
May be noted as the one that flipped McConaughey from underachieving movie idol to terrific character actor.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
December 21, 2006
'Restrained' and 'tasteful' are not words normally associated with McG, the director best known for countless music videos and the Charlie's Angels movie franchise. We Are Marshall could change that.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
December 21, 2006
Strathairn brings a sense of integrity that makes even the film's most clichéd moments forgivable.
Read More | Original Score: B
December 20, 2006
The movie certainly has its heart in the right place, but that alone just isn't enough.
December 19, 2006
We Are Marshall is precisely what one expects from a true sports story: it's uplifting and inspiring.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
December 19, 2006
Even by the low standards of the young-jocks-as-good-clean-soldiers movie, there's little at stake here, unless you count the kids' hunger to win one for the Gipper.
December 18, 2006
Full of good intentions, We Are Marshall has a game plan that's hard to fault, but as with any playbook, a scheme is only as good as how well it's executed.
December 14, 2006
What should have been an inspirational story about fortitude and courage in the face of mind-numbing tragedy becomes a compendium of sports cliches.
December 13, 2006
We Are Marshall has little of the bone-crunching sincerity of the recent pigskin rouser Invincible. This one is more like Unconvincing.
Full Review | Original Score: C+