We Are the Best! - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

We Are the Best! Reviews

Page 1 of 6
October 5, 2016
Hilarious, touching, and thought provoking, this is a joyous celebration of punk music, female friendship, and, most of all, 13-year-old girls.
June 6, 2016
We Are the Best! wins its audience over fairly quickly with its chaotic and energetic spirit.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
July 31, 2015
Moodysson gives his characters the perfect mix of love, protection, and freedom
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
January 4, 2015
For all their moodiness and irascibility, the girls come across as warm and believable, and there are funny moments when they take to the streets to raise money for a new guitar.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 4, 2015
The music here is really just a Macguffin, a way into Moodyson's real subject: the complex and often unequal dynamics of adolescent friendships.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 4, 2015
Watching We Are the Best! is a genuinely positive experience, one that leaves you smiling inside and out even days later as you think back not only on scenes from the film but also to memories of your own life.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
January 4, 2015
The beautifully authentic performances by the three bandmates capture that brief life moment when nearly everything can feel like a scary, joyous act of rebellion.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
January 4, 2015
A pallid and terminally cutesy movie that succeeds by stoking blandly happy feelings.
December 25, 2014
It's a film for seeing familiar things being done well, not for being surprised or challenged.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
December 5, 2014
The pic has a blast poking fun at society, and in a crude way siding with the rebels.
Full Review | Original Score: B
November 23, 2014
The three girls are full of life. They have a lot of fun just being kids. They are excited about their potential and their possibilities. This movie is a tribute to the spirit and optimism of youth.
Full Review | Original Score: B
November 7, 2014
We Are The Best! is a delightful film about the friendship between its three young protagonists, set to an amusing and convincing punk music backdrop. I spent half the running time with a grin on my face.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 6, 2014
But this is not a movie about kids learning the value of intense practice and dedication. Instead, it's a movie about the major and minor tumults of growing up.
Full Review | Original Score: 7
October 24, 2014
We Are the Best! is as unique as chips and chocolate. It's also as universal as cosmic pubescence.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.0/5
October 16, 2014
A proudly feminist middle finger to conformity, and a celebration of youthful rebellion.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 10, 2014
"We Are the Best!" captures the chaos of youth with a funny and profane energy.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
October 1, 2014
In its evocation of the early '80s Stockholm middle-school girl punk rock scene, "We Are The Best!" could hardly be more specific. But in its depiction of the joys and sorrows of adolescence, it could hardly be more universal.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
September 26, 2014
Moodysson has brought these non-conformists delightfully, sensitively to life with design and cinematography reflecting the recently departed 70's.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
September 26, 2014
The young actresses are just flawless and I think Lukas Moodysson really tells this story well.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
September 22, 2014
Full of adolescent energy -- vibrant, untethered, and kind of bonkers -- the new movie from Swedish director Lukas Moodysson is a gentler version of childhood than he's recently favoured.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 6