We Are What We Are - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

We Are What We Are Reviews

Page 1 of 5
Top Critic
Ben Sachs
Chicago Reader
October 10, 2013
The original was nothing special, but at least it had a sense of humor and a modicum of social insight.
Chuck Bowen
Slant Magazine
September 21, 2013
Jim Mickle plays the scenario deadly straight and unintentionally exposes all of its attendant absurdities, leaving the cast stranded.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Robert Levin
September 26, 2013
If, in the end, it doesn't really work, there's still plenty to admire in the gothic exploration of the timeless conflict between family tradition and modernity.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Rob Daniel
Sky Movies
February 27, 2014
A shrug of a movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Nigel Andrews
Financial Times
February 27, 2014
Stupendously dull: dull with that blend of overloaded effect and under-supplied affect that bad horror alone truly offers.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Felix Vasquez Jr.
Cinema Crazed
January 23, 2014
Barely mediocre but at least worth the watch for the finale, alone.
Laura Clifford
Reeling Reviews
September 29, 2013
Mickle and Damici have come up with a couple of very imaginative details to adorn their tale, but in the end the story itself feels preordained, everything slowly unfurling exactly how you'd expect
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Jeremy Mathews
Paste Magazine
February 5, 2013
We Are What We Are is a film that ought to feel like an amusement park terror ride, but instead comes off as a poor attempt at fine art.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.3/10
Todd Jorgenson
September 30, 2013
This deliberately paced remake of the superior 2010 Mexican film of the same name has some stylish atmospheric touches, although it could use more of the twisted sense of humor it only flashes in spurts.
Top Critic
Joshua Rothkopf
Time Out
September 24, 2013
Outside of its cracked psychology (well conveyed by papa Bill Sage), We Are What We Are is horror leftovers, neither inedible nor piping hot.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Michael O'Sullivan
Washington Post
October 10, 2013
There's some fun to be had, as long as your idea of fun includes being grossed out.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Peter Bradshaw
February 27, 2014
Another pointless remake.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Jessica Kiang
The Playlist
May 22, 2013
We Are What We Are is just a great yarn, well-acted, elegantly shot and put together cleverly so that even its more visceral delights feel well-earned.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Jamie S. Rich
October 8, 2013
Mickle's script, co-written by "Stake Land" star Nick Damici, could have used some tightening. Ride it out. There's a demented climax waiting on the other side.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Matt Donato
We Got This Covered
October 2, 2013
We Are What We Are pits the ideas of personal choice against the influence of our upbringing in a story that simmers slowly until coming to an explosive boil, overflowing with savage brutality.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
William Bibbiani
May 20, 2013
The doom, the gloom, and the horrific truth kept just out of the audience's reach make the build up in We Are What We Are a potent motion picture, and Mickle films it with genuine class and moderation.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.5/10
Stefan Pape
March 10, 2014
Remakes may get a lot of stick in Hollywood, as filmmakers can be accused of being somewhat lazy and uncreative in that regard.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Chris Sawin
October 20, 2013
We Are What We Are is built around sloppy yet fantastic kills with a fairly satisfying explanation for everything, but it jerks the viewer around with awkward jumps in violence and its overbearing tepidness shouts over everything else in the film.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Scott Wold
Paste Magazine
September 27, 2013
Despite the occasional failure of the film to let the atmosphere and subtle performances stand unadorned, We Are What We Are is an impressive entry from director Mickle.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.8/10
Jennifer Tate
February 26, 2014
An atmospheric cannibalism horror featuring an impressive performance by Julia Garner, but it's let down by a slow first act, weak dialogue and an unsuitable score.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Page 1 of 5