We Don't Live Here Anymore - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

We Don't Live Here Anymore Reviews

October 1, 2004
We Don't Live Here Anymore is, you might say, a movie for adults who are, perhaps, a smidge too impressed with being adults.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
September 9, 2004
I was fully absorbed in the characters and their casually outrageous behavior.
September 3, 2004
We Don't Live Here Anymore deftly captures the pain and suffocation of people who have fallen out of love and don't know who to blame. It just forgets to allow them -- or the audience -- to feel anything else.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
September 2, 2004
Watts manages to make her Edith seem genuinely remorseful about her actions but unable to stop, and Ruffalo puts a believable hint of guilt in Jack's face that he carries through the film.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/5
August 27, 2004
Earnest, overbearing and fully depressing, We Don't Live Here Anymore features a quartet of fine performances that are somewhat undermined by the numbing, one-note tone of the entire enterprise.
Read More | Original Score: C+
August 27, 2004
Painful, powerful adaptation of two of Andre Dubus' beautifully frank stories.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
August 27, 2004
Curran shows us characters whose lives have gone stale but doesn't provide sufficient payoff to justify the suffering.
Read More | Original Score: C+
August 27, 2004
It's an honest, revealing and provocative look at the sort of people we think we know, but in reality, rarely do.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 26, 2004
Dramatically slack, the story isn't driven by plot so much as by the slow revelation of character.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
August 26, 2004
An intricate drama that derives tragedy from emotional indifference, immaturity and fatigue, qualities that have spelled doom for more than a few marriages.
Full Review | Original Score: B
August 24, 2004
Scene by scene, the movie is precise, vibrant, and, for all its turmoil, moving.
August 20, 2004
If you can deal with the muddy footprints, the mess is worth it.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 20, 2004
[The] performances stay with you.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 20, 2004
The acting is fervent, and the insights cut deep.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 20, 2004
A bookish picture without a book's depth.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
August 20, 2004
Inadequate emotionally and psychologically.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
August 20, 2004
The movie may leave its audience feeling a little battered ... Still, the film's honesty, along with its refusal to pander to Hollywood happy endings, is well worth the beating.
August 20, 2004
Too desultory.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
August 20, 2004
The film astutely finds a vivid personality for each character.
August 19, 2004
A crackling, claustrophobic chamber piece.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
August 19, 2004
Usually American marital problems are left to the soap operas; it's nice to see them tackled by experts, piercing personas and peeling open hearts.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
August 19, 2004
A movie as empty as its title. A lot of good acting is going on, but there's nobody home.
Read More | Original Score: C+
August 15, 2004
A sense of unease, of incompleteness, is, I think, the appropriate response to this movie. Instead of trying to fill in the blanks, Curran and Gross leave things open and ambiguous. Just like life.
August 13, 2004
Pretty potent.
August 13, 2004
Fastidious and controlled to a fault, but rewarding nonetheless.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
August 13, 2004
A movie for grownups about four childish adults.
August 13, 2004
If you want to see how other couples fight, We Don't Live Here Anymore is as good a place as any to visit. But why, exactly, would you want to?
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
August 13, 2004
Director John Curran draws skillfully nuanced performances from the four leads, who have rarely been better.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 12, 2004
We Don't Live Here Anymore is a revelation. One rarely sees American-made movies that are so unafraid to explore emotional cruelty and portray the consequences without positing easy answers or attaching happy endings.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
August 12, 2004
Affecting and sincere.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
August 12, 2004
The murk and mystery of marriage, adultery and friendship have seldom been illuminated with such harsh precision.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
August 12, 2004
Originally written in the 1970s. That figures, in the best sense: It is worthy of comparison to the lifelike, character-rich films we cherish from that era, and is certainly one of the finest films to come out this year.
August 11, 2004
At times harrowing to watch, yet it's also wry and delicate and absorbing. It's infused with the messy excitement of imperfect passion.
Full Review | Original Score: A
August 10, 2004
Spellbinding stuff -- in part because of its vivid characterizations.
August 5, 2004
The film, sometimes talky and overemphatic, is also literate, erotic, brutally funny and touched by brilliance in its quartet of live-wire performances.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
January 27, 2004
[A] smart insight into modern-day relationships.