We Need to Talk About Kevin - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

We Need to Talk About Kevin Reviews

Page 2 of 10
March 23, 2012
Of all the nomination flubs made this past January by the Academy of Harvey Weinstein Arts and Sciences, the most egregious mistake was arguably the lack of a Best Actress nod for Tilda Swinton.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 22, 2012
Watching it isn't easy, but it is definitely worth having waited for.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
March 22, 2012
A meaty, full-fat, marrow-rich, extra-pulp vision of the nightmare side of motherhood, given realism by a pair of all-too believable performances.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 19, 2012
Stylized to the point of absurdity, We Need to Talk About Kevin is little more than a blank, tarted-up cartoon, where Ramsey's hyperbolic efforts seem orchestrated to camouflage the fact that she has nothing to say.
Full Review | Original Score: C
March 16, 2012
An unconventionally structured but thoroughly riveting indie drama, propelled by a searing performance from Tilda Swinton.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 12, 2012
Swinton fans will take poor Eva to their bosoms without a second thought. Everyone else: Medicate before use.
March 9, 2012
We Need to Talk About Kevin is basically emotional torture porn as the camera lingers on Eva as she repeatedly suffers inhuman amounts of psychological distress while the audience wonders how much more she, and we, can take.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
March 9, 2012
...this is not an easy story to tell and the filmmakers do it well.
Full Review | Original Score: B
March 9, 2012
Fragmented, dreamlike, a whir of memories and misery, We Need to Talk About Kevin is unsettling, but also somehow unnecessary.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 9, 2012
"We Need to Talk About Kevin" is confrontational cinema that will leave you speechless.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
March 9, 2012
Director Ramsay makes Kevin's impact all the more felt by coming at it from all angles.
Full Review | Original Score: A
March 8, 2012
Brilliant and unrelentingly bleak.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 8, 2012
It's a hallmark of "Kevin's" emotional bravery and intellectual honesty that the questions haunt us long after the end credits roll.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
March 8, 2012
You understand the symbolism implied in Kevin's choice of weapon, but I didn't really believe it could work as a WMD.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 8, 2012
Some movies punish you, but you take it because you're getting something out of the bargain: an insight, a performance, art, adrenaline. Then there are the movies that punish you for the heck of it.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
March 8, 2012
No one does layered suffering like Swinton - you feel her pain and much more besides.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 8, 2012
Swinton is brilliant in a difficult and painful film.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
March 5, 2012
Works as a family drama, an American horror story, and a strong argument for birth control.
March 3, 2012
I honestly could not take this art house Omen seriously, however much fun it may be to watch Swinton suffer and however languid and lyrical director Lynne Ramsay's visual compositions might be.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
March 3, 2012
[F]eels like sleeptime indigestion finally cooling off.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Page 2 of 10