We Need to Talk About Kevin - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

We Need to Talk About Kevin Reviews

Page 3 of 10
March 8, 2012
Swinton is brilliant in a difficult and painful film.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
March 5, 2012
Works as a family drama, an American horror story, and a strong argument for birth control.
March 3, 2012
I honestly could not take this art house Omen seriously, however much fun it may be to watch Swinton suffer and however languid and lyrical director Lynne Ramsay's visual compositions might be.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
March 3, 2012
[F]eels like sleeptime indigestion finally cooling off.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
March 2, 2012
An annoying provocation with too little to say, a serious credibility deficit, a whiff of misandry, and a miscalculated, unseemly gusto for abusing its hero. Instead of having catharsis, the audience just gets had.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 2, 2012
I realize that, in praising the film, I've probably talked most readers out of seeing it. But it's an undeniably powerful piece of art that engages fully with its disturbing subject matter.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
March 2, 2012
Director Ramsay seems intent on scaring parents everywhere, but she also wants this cautionary tale to make us think too.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
March 2, 2012
Ramsay may be aiming for a character study of Kevin, but she ends up merely listing the ingredients needed to make a murderer.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 2, 2012
Lynne Ramsay's thoughtful, unnerving film works its strange power over viewers who are likely to find themselves as compelled as repelled by its fatally flawed key players.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 1, 2012
The narrative strategy amounts to little more than film-school strenuousness, and in the end it can't conceal the movie's essential crudeness - its coarse, artless dialogue, blank character writing and intellectual vacuity.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
March 1, 2012
Imagine The Good Son re-dreamt by Nicolas Roeg, and you might have something close to Lynne Ramsay's We Need To Talk About Kevin...
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 1, 2012
Ramsay, filming in lurid reds and unblinking close-ups, lets no one off the hook here; this is truly a domestic horror story, with no easy answers and nobody blameless.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
March 1, 2012
Tilda Swinton is the star of We Need to Talk About Kevin, and her performance is so complex and volcanic and transfixing that all of the film's flaws melt away.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
February 29, 2012
...leans a little too far into the self consciously arty and the horror aspects of the tale at the expense of the psychological.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
February 10, 2012
The film investigates the world of parenting in a fashion far removed from the usual candy-coated vision of mommies-and-babies-in-love.
February 9, 2012
There's no equivocating ... over the excellence of the acting by Swinton and casting find Ezra Miller
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
February 3, 2012
We Need To Talk About Kevin is a modern American horror story, and one that in the wake of Columbine and other apparently random teen atrocities, strikes me as tremendously brave.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
February 2, 2012
I would be more willing to suspend my disbelief if the movie didn't drag me through this stupid psychological deterministic slime. While I do admire the filmmaking craft that went into it, the experience of watching it is less than satisfying.
Full Review | Original Score: C
January 31, 2012
The use of red is so overdone that you assume the color must be paying for some sort of product placement.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
January 27, 2012
Nothing seared my consciousness like the stunning work from Tilda Swinton in "We Need to Talk About Kevin."
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Page 3 of 10