We Were Here - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

We Were Here Reviews

Page 2 of 3
October 28, 2011
"We Were Here" pays eloquent homage to men and women who deserve to be celebrated and remembered as heroes.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
October 13, 2011
I truly doubt that any thinking, feeling human could behold all the horrible loss and pain that this film chronicles and not be shaken to the core.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
October 9, 2011
The filmmakers have amassed an amazing archive of photos and videotapes, but it is the intimate, personal testimonies that make the film so vital, urgent, and necessary.
September 30, 2011
The most gripping war movie you'll see this year, We Were Here tells first-hand the story of how AIDS attacked San Francisco, killing more than 15,000. Whole peer groups were happy, healthy, and then dead in months.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
September 30, 2011
In these days of epidemiological awareness, we know there'll be a next time, with different details. Amid its pathos, We Were Here is a cautionary tale for when that time arrives.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 30, 2011
It is both a testament to the fallen and a series of life lessons from five brave survivors, lessons about finding the best in ourselves in the worst of times.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
September 19, 2011
Its vivid, no-nonsense style (in which interviews, period photographs, and news footage merge seamlessly) makes the past present.
September 15, 2011
This clear-eyed and soulful documentary brings us inside the contagion in a way that is so intimate, so personal, you feel like you're hearing about these catastrophic events for the first time.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 12, 2011
Reminds us that sometimes people really do pull together and help each other...
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
September 9, 2011
Despite the development of life-preserving drugs, the AIDS epidemic is sadly still very much in the world. This trenchant documentary reminds us of its roots in a terrifying time which was nonetheless marked by a singular, beautiful humanity.
September 8, 2011
Director David Weissman does everything you're generally not supposed to do in a documentary - we get talking heads, old news footage, and still photographs, and that's about it - but We Were Here is never less than riveting.
September 8, 2011
An extraordinarily moving, beautifully edited documentary...
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
September 7, 2011
We Were Here utilizes an invaluable archive of period pictures and news footage to trace how the Castro went from Edenic neighborhood to an epidemic frontline.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 6, 2011
A simple, powerful act of bearing witness, We Were Here is a sober reminder of the not-too-distant past, when gays were focused not on honeymoon plans but on keeping people alive.
September 5, 2011
A harrowing oral history of the AIDS epidemic in San Francisco whose spine is the freshly recounted horror of an "avalanche" of grief.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 22, 2011
A riveting reflection on the initial, devastating impact of the AIDS epidemic on San Francisco's gay community. Don't watch it without a box of tissues handy.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
April 7, 2011
Almost overwhelming in its emotional kick, this documentary about the San Francisco Aids epidemic is so intensely personal that it's sometimes difficult to watch. Which is why it's so important.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 1, 2011
... the document of record, establishing the public, collective memory of a time and place so many have wanted to forget.
February 24, 2011
There is no turning away from the screen.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
February 12, 2011
Thirty years after AIDS first made its horrific impact, documentarist David Weissman has made a powerful and intimate testament to the epidemic's effect on San Francisco's gay community.
Page 2 of 3