We Were Here - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

We Were Here Reviews

Page 1 of 3
Paul Weedon
Little White Lies
November 24, 2011
An honest, frank and often moving documentary that deals with its difficult subject matter sensitively and compellingly.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Monica Castillo
Bitch Media
May 10, 2016
We Were Here does not move behind the scope of San Francisco, which I considered a benefit. It allows the viewer to fully immerse themselves in the story.
Eve Barlow
Empire Magazine
November 20, 2011
A moving look behind the curtain of a rarely-explored community.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Bruce Diones
New Yorker
September 19, 2011
Its vivid, no-nonsense style (in which interviews, period photographs, and news footage merge seamlessly) makes the past present.
Philip Martin
Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
December 17, 2011
an insular story, told by insiders, of a particular community - a community to which this reviewer happened to be connected ... invaluable as a reminder of how it felt to be helpless, to be thought lost, and yet prevail. They - we - did overcome.
| Original Score: 90/100
Top Critic
Alonso Duralde
TheWrap
September 8, 2011
Director David Weissman does everything you're generally not supposed to do in a documentary - we get talking heads, old news footage, and still photographs, and that's about it - but We Were Here is never less than riveting.
Fr. Chris Carpenter
Movie Dearest
July 22, 2011
A riveting reflection on the initial, devastating impact of the AIDS epidemic on San Francisco's gay community. Don't watch it without a box of tissues handy.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Richard Knight
Knight at the Movies
January 13, 2012
Cathartic and bittersweet with moments of joy and humor. Weissman's movie is a rare gift.
Bill Weber
Slant Magazine
September 5, 2011
A harrowing oral history of the AIDS epidemic in San Francisco whose spine is the freshly recounted horror of an "avalanche" of grief.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Sarah Boslaugh
Playback:stl
January 22, 2012
...simple yet very intense, and if you have any interest in gay history, you won't want to miss it.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Top Critic
Bruce Demara
Toronto Star
September 30, 2011
It is both a testament to the fallen and a series of life lessons from five brave survivors, lessons about finding the best in ourselves in the worst of times.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Dave Calhoun
Time Out
November 22, 2011
[A] sober, devastating film about how we all - and some more than others - have to deal with the most unexpected horrors in our lives.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Rich Cline
Shadows on the Wall
April 7, 2011
Almost overwhelming in its emotional kick, this documentary about the San Francisco Aids epidemic is so intensely personal that it's sometimes difficult to watch. Which is why it's so important.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews
November 1, 2011
A very moving and heartfelt documentary that acts as an historical record for a time when the AIDS epidemic was a nightmare for the gay community.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Laura Clifford
Reeling Reviews
December 6, 2011
...honors the fallen, the survivors and those who helped both by documenting the intensity and the many issues surrounding the maelstrom which was the AIDS epidemic in San Francisco
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Robin Clifford
Reeling Reviews
December 7, 2011
...this is a work that chronicles the very beginnings of a disease that shook the world for decades.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Top Critic
Mick LaSalle
San Francisco Chronicle
February 24, 2011
There is no turning away from the screen.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Top Critic
Stephen Holden
New York Times
September 8, 2011
An extraordinarily moving, beautifully edited documentary...
| Original Score: 4/5
March 2, 2012
...cinematographer Marsha Kahm has done a stellar job of zeroing in on the disparate visages whether revelling in the joy of a long-forgotten moment with a former partner or letting tears of 'Why not me?' come into unabashed focus.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Shawn Levy
Oregonian
October 13, 2011
I truly doubt that any thinking, feeling human could behold all the horrible loss and pain that this film chronicles and not be shaken to the core.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Page 1 of 3