We Were Here - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

We Were Here Reviews

February 28, 2012
A simple, powerful act of bearing witness, We Were Here is a sober reminder of the not-too-distant past, when gays were focused not on honeymoon plans but on keeping people alive.
November 22, 2011
[A] sober, devastating film about how we all - and some more than others - have to deal with the most unexpected horrors in our lives.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 10, 2011
There's something profoundly inspirational about this portrait of a community coming together to battle prejudice and disease.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
October 28, 2011
"We Were Here" pays eloquent homage to men and women who deserve to be celebrated and remembered as heroes.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
September 30, 2011
The most gripping war movie you'll see this year, We Were Here tells first-hand the story of how AIDS attacked San Francisco, killing more than 15,000. Whole peer groups were happy, healthy, and then dead in months.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
September 30, 2011
It is both a testament to the fallen and a series of life lessons from five brave survivors, lessons about finding the best in ourselves in the worst of times.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
September 19, 2011
Its vivid, no-nonsense style (in which interviews, period photographs, and news footage merge seamlessly) makes the past present.
September 15, 2011
This clear-eyed and soulful documentary brings us inside the contagion in a way that is so intimate, so personal, you feel like you're hearing about these catastrophic events for the first time.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 8, 2011
Director David Weissman does everything you're generally not supposed to do in a documentary - we get talking heads, old news footage, and still photographs, and that's about it - but We Were Here is never less than riveting.
September 8, 2011
An extraordinarily moving, beautifully edited documentary...
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
September 7, 2011
We Were Here utilizes an invaluable archive of period pictures and news footage to trace how the Castro went from Edenic neighborhood to an epidemic frontline.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 6, 2011
A simple, powerful act of bearing witness, We Were Here is a sober reminder of the not-too-distant past, when gays were focused not on honeymoon plans but on keeping people alive.
February 24, 2011
There is no turning away from the screen.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
February 8, 2011
Deeply affecting doc revisits the AIDS epidemic without any grandstanding.
January 28, 2011
We Were Here documents the epidemic through a powerful combination of first-hand testimony, archival photography and TV news footage.