We Were Here - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

We Were Here Reviews

Page 2 of 5
November 28, 2012
A very moving story about the first generation of people that lived and died through the AIDS epidemic. Learn things you never knew about this tragedy but bring plenty of tissues, you'll need them... what an intense and brilliant tribute! xXx
November 22, 2012
This documentary lists personal stories of those who witnessed what was happening in San Francisco during the AIDS crisis in the late 70s through the 80s. This movie is an absolute MUST SEE not only for the gay community, but for everyone....especially from my generation and younger who do not remember.
November 2, 2012
Everyone should wTch this movie
½ September 16, 2012
"It was so difficult. It pulled me out of myself."
September 14, 2012
Eye-opening, dejecting and sad, highly informative and respectful of both its subjects and the sensitive subject matter at hand, We Were Here is a well put-together documentary about the early days at the epicenter of the AIDS epidemic -- early 1980s San Francisco, California. Told from the vantage point of five individuals who lived through and survived the harrowing decimation -- Ed Wolf, Guy Clark, Daniel Goldstein, Paul Boneberg and Eileen Glutzer -- the film chronicles their personal stories or triumph, woe and desperation that resulted from various political and social stances of the time. No matter the depth(s) of one's knowledge regarding the early days of the so-called "Gay Plague", We Were Here is a riveting documentary for anybody wanting to know more about the struggles of the gay community at this time and even those of America as a whole. That so many people stood aside within the government or a medical or religious communities because they were never going to be affected (OR effected) by this highly selective disease is/was shocking. One of the five "we's", Eileen Glutzer was a kind-hearted nurse who realized that NOT enough was being done for these "pariahs" and so she doubled-down her efforts to make those in local government aware of the dire problem. We Were Here is a personal documentary about these five individuals and what they encountered and who they lost. It does not go into how the epidemic was overcome by an eventual cooperation of a vast number of citizens who brought awareness and respect to the AIDS community by culling the early startling numbers to a less-startling number.
September 4, 2012
An absolutely sad and heart wrenching documentary, I haven't cried over a movie in so long. 5 stars, best documentary, although saddest I've ever seen.
August 16, 2012
Very sad but interesting
½ August 13, 2012
A splendid, haunting documentary about the 'gay cancer' outbreak in San Francisco's gay community. Known today as HIV/AIDS this film only interviews a select few men and one women, but there stories of perseverance are emotionally epic.
August 6, 2012
A moving and significant piece of work that I wish was longer so I could hear even more stories about the decade that changed so many people's lives who lived through it.
July 30, 2012
A documentary film about the AIDS epidemic in San Francisco told thru interviews and historical footage. Really heartbreaking and painful to watch but amazing to know what the Castro was like in the 80s and early 90s.
½ July 23, 2012
sex sex sex sex sex, grow the fuck up. There is more to life than sex, read a book
July 15, 2012
We Were Here tells the story from the beginning of the AIDS epidemic through the eyes of those who lived it. It was painful to remember how the AIDS hysteria caused many early sufferers to be denied the care they deserved. Luckily, there were angels who couldn't turn a blind eye to human suffering. They were instrumental in fighting the political and social battles. I highly recommend this movie to anyone who didn't live through that time to better understand how far we've come, but also how far we still need to go!
July 15, 2012
This emotional documentary is too good for any kind of review, it's one of the best docs I've ever seen. Just see it right now :)
July 13, 2012
We Were Here is a heart wrenching story of the first destructive footprints of the AIDS epidemic in San Francisco. The sense of community and the amazing outreach of those affected by this crisis is overwhelming. Take everything you know about AIDS and throw it out the window. We Were Here is an education in just how amazing people can be.
July 7, 2012
Really fine. Smart and moving.
½ July 5, 2012
whos rating these movies? old people?
July 3, 2012
For those of us who grew up in the 80's this is a reminder of how tragic it was for so many gay men to loose their lives in such a horrible way.
July 2, 2012
Pretty devastating to watch
July 1, 2012
Awesome documentary of one of the worst epidemics humankind has faced.
June 24, 2012
Powerful and emotional look at how the AIDS crisis affected the San Francisco community told through the eyes of survivors. An important reminder of the lives lost and the work that the gay and lesbian community and others did to take care of their own. A great testament to these remarkable individual and a strong reminder of what we lost and gained and to never forget our recent past.
Page 2 of 5