We Were Soldiers - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

We Were Soldiers Reviews

Page 2 of 9
James Sanford
Kalamazoo Gazette
June 3, 2002
plays like an unbalanced mixture of graphic combat footage and almost saccharine domestic interludes that are pure Hollywood.
Top Critic
Manohla Dargis
L.A. Weekly
June 1, 2002
The Vietnam setting looks authentic enough, but the action is as inert and unpersuasive as Gibson's attempt to fashion Bill Mauldin poetry out of his $20-million-plus smirk.
Collin Souter
eFilmCritic.com
May 25, 2002
I've said it before and I'll say it again: Just because it's a true story, that doesn't mean it's a great one.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Andrew Howe
eFilmCritic.com
April 27, 2002
A breathtaking but ultimately insubstantial fireworks display.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Mark Dujsik
Mark Reviews Movies
April 24, 2002
There is such a broad scope to the film that it seems ready to topple over on itself, but it very rarely misses a beat.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Eugene Novikov
Film Blather
April 19, 2002
The movie is clearly diluted for mass consumption.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Larry Carroll
Countingdown.com
April 16, 2002
...hides behind carnage in an attempt to seem weighty, but (should not) be taken any more seriously as a historical account than an average episode of "Hogan's Heroes".
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Michael Dequina
TheMovieReport.com
April 9, 2002
When staying true to its title--which, thankfully, is most of the time--this is an effective war picture.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Matt Easterbrook
Matt's Movie Reviews
March 30, 2002
The Vietnam generation has its own Saving Private Ryan in We Were Soldiers.
| Original Score: 5/5
David Keyes
Cinemaphile.org
March 22, 2002
War is no doubt hell. The only question is, do we really need another movie to tell us that? I think not.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
March 22, 2002
Makes you cry for the hundreds of thousands of men and women who died so pointlessly with Geoghegan. And their orphans.
Mike McGranaghan
Aisle Seat
March 19, 2002
For a movie that is based on a true story, We Were Soldiers has a lot of war movie cliches.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 17, 2002
Wallace seems less like he's been burning to tell a war story than he's been itching to somehow tack one together
| Original Score: 2/4
Michael W. Phillips, Jr.
Goatdog's Movies
March 17, 2002
There are some surprising and good things about the film.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
Andrew Sarris
New York Observer
March 14, 2002
As I settled into my World War II memories, I found myself strangely moved by even the corniest and most hackneyed contrivances.
Top Critic
Rex Reed
New York Observer
March 13, 2002
After suffering through We Were Soldiers, I think I've seen all the war movies I care to endure for quite some time.
James Kendrick
Q Network Film Desk
March 10, 2002
Wallace keeps the tension racheted up tight, and he never shies away from the gore of war
| Original Score: 3/4
Carlo Cavagna
AboutFilm.com
March 9, 2002
Fails to make these powerful human experiences seem like anything other than tired war-film clichés.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Shirley Sealy
Film Journal International
March 9, 2002
Even the presence of a Hollywood megastar like Mel Gibson doesn't detract from the vividly authentic look and feel of the battle scenes.
David Sterritt
Christian Science Monitor
March 9, 2002
Supposedly authentic account of a historical event that's far too tragic to merit such superficial treatment.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Page 2 of 9