We Were Soldiers - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

We Were Soldiers Reviews

Page 1 of 8
December 29, 2010
One of the most violent movies ever released.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
December 22, 2006
The war genre, vigorously energized with Saving Private Ryan and Black Hawk Down, takes several steps backward with this old-fashioned moralistic saga, a tribute not only to the soldiers in combat in Vietnam but also to the homefront.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
December 6, 2005
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 6, 2005
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
January 12, 2004
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
January 7, 2004
... A fitting tribute to all the men and women who have fought and died for their country -- and for each other.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
April 5, 2003
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 13, 2003
Ultimately, it staggers out bloodied, partially bowed, but at least not totally beaten.
February 8, 2003
...A gripping, fast-moving film that will be added to the short list of quality movies focused on the U.S. conflict in Vietnam.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 19, 2002
I didn't mind the film's sentimental view of GIs. It's stuff like this that gets me crying, especially in times of combat like now. I wasn't the only one wiping tears away. It's hard not to when you're proud to be an American.
December 8, 2002
This is a good film; strong, honest, strikingly photographed (by Dean Semler) and appropriately devastating.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 30, 2002
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 22, 2002
It's refreshing to see a pre-acid rock movie about Vietnam.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 9, 2002
Read More | Original Score: B
July 20, 2002
Probably the best thing you can say about We Were Soldiers is that it does justice to an awful conflict.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
July 9, 2002
Another in a long line of ultra-violent war movies, this one is not quite what it could have been as a film, but the story and theme make up for it.
Full Review
June 28, 2002
We were soldiers es la voz de los soldados muertos que reclaman el haber sido enviados a defender un país, para luego ser simplemente dejados atrás.
| Original Score: 8.5/10
June 5, 2002
The first war picture in recent memory that owes more to John Ford than to Sony PlayStation.
April 27, 2002
A breathtaking but ultimately insubstantial fireworks display.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
April 24, 2002
There is such a broad scope to the film that it seems ready to topple over on itself, but it very rarely misses a beat.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Page 1 of 8