Wendy and Lucy - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Wendy and Lucy Reviews

Page 1 of 9
Clint O'Connor
Cleveland Plain Dealer
March 27, 2015
Calling Wendy and Lucy spare is a monument to understatement. It's a drab, low-budget, unadorned film, often lacking the requisite elements that lend movies their motion: plot, conflict, character development, or even a soundtrack.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Edward Douglas
December 9, 2008
Williams is fascinating to watch on screen ... but a strong performance does not necessarily an entertaining movie make, and there seems to be little point or purpose to this.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Avi Offer
NYC Movie Guru
January 31, 2009
Doesn't have any real surprises or insights and often drags, but at least it has a few heartfelt moments that leave you feeling quietly moved.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/10
Top Critic
Ben Mankiewicz
At the Movies
December 15, 2008
[With] very basic storytelling, we've got to be given a reason to care and it never happens.
Top Critic
Ben Lyons
At the Movies
December 15, 2008
This indie film is slow and downright boring at its core.
David Stratton
At the Movies (Australia)
March 27, 2009
The narrative has been pared to the bone, and that was a problem for me. We know nothing about Wendy, who she really is, why she left Indiana, what she hopes to do in Alaska -- apart from find a job.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Top Critic
Joe Neumaier
New York Daily News
December 10, 2008
Like a worst-case-scenario, indie-movie cliché, Wendy and Lucy throws every bone it can at the screen
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Allan Hunter
Daily Express (UK)
March 7, 2009
It is only marginally more absorbing than watching paint dry.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Nigel Andrews
Financial Times
March 6, 2009
Sensible people will see the film for what it is: Waiting for Dogot without Beckett... But you cannot argue with dog lovers: they see in a vacuum of nothingness an existential nirvana.
Brandon Fibbs
January 30, 2009
Wendy and Lucy is a slow and meandering film, in no rush to get anywhere, least of all to anywhere important.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
Leigh Singer
March 7, 2009
Wendy And Lucy follows in noble traditions but steadfastly refuses to breach the poetry of its predecessors. Despite Michelle Williams's best efforts this is a very long, obvious, opaque 80 minutes.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
John Anderson
Washington Post
January 29, 2009
For all its virtues, Wendy and Lucy seems like the most overrated of art movies.
Ron Wilkinson
Monsters and Critics
December 10, 2008
If you liked "Into the Wild" you might have half a chance of getting into this extended melodrama. But beware, the story has none of the interesting characters and double the lameness.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
Richard von Busack
March 27, 2015
Williams can hit the notes; she's slight, thin-legged, a serious waif. We can worry about her easily enough. The problem is that nothing sticks out more than poised acting in a naturalistic film.
Marcy Dermansky
September 30, 2008
It's easy to admire to Williams' performance, without ever feeling compelled to cry.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Top Critic
Amy Nicholson
I.E. Weekly
January 1, 2009
Older audiences are hailing this slim story of a hand-to-mouth transient limping her way to Alaska as an insight into Gen X's unmoored ennui. It's like they've watched The Kite Runner and now think they understand Afghanistan.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Victor Olliver
March 5, 2009
Perfectly paced, with the many long silences you get in real life, Kelly Reichardt's film is undone by a fatal plot flaw involving the dog.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
Ken Hanke
Mountain Xpress (Asheville, NC)
April 2, 2009
A year from now it won't be a blip on my conscious mind. If someone mentions it to me, it'll register as 'oh, yeah, that depressing movie about the woman and her dog.'
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Robert Roten
Laramie Movie Scope
February 12, 2009
Agonizingly slow-moving and it has a bare-bones plot in which nothing much happens.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Walter Chaw
Film Freak Central
December 11, 2008
grim to the point of tedium
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Page 1 of 9