What Alice Found - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

What Alice Found Reviews

Page 2 of 2
September 26, 2007
Has student film written all over it. It was obviously shot on DV, which gives it the look of a TV movie. The girl's accent is over the top and fake. But it's an interesting movie, and not one that would be made by any Hollywood studio.
August 3, 2007
A very interesting, very surprising movie.
July 20, 2007
One of my favorite arthouse flicks. I'm actually shocked that I was even able to find the movie listed here.
May 24, 2007
NOT a thriller as described. it was just ok as a drama.
½ May 5, 2007
No doubt an interesting premise, the movie is actually pretty gripping, as it were. The acting is good, and the story actually works. You end up with some unlikely sympathetic characters, and an original flick.
½ April 20, 2007
I just watched this the other day and i think its really good
July 19, 2006
I. CONTENT (out of 3 stars plus bonus, composite of sub-criteria bellow): ---> 2.75 <---


i. PHILOSOPHICAL/PSYCHOLOGICAL DEPTH (out of 2 stars, where very shallow = 0; shallow = 0.25 or

0.5; somewhat deep = 0.75 or 1.0; deep = 1.25 or 1.5; very deep = 1.75 or 2.0)
--->1.25<---

*Does the movie provide deep insights into psychology of an individual? (0.25 for somewhat deep,

0.5 for deep) Y-0.5

*Does the movie provide deep insights into psychology of a group? (0.25 for somewhat deep, 0.5

for deep) Y-0.25

*Does the movie provide deep philosophical/cosmological insights? (0.25 for somewhat deep, 0.5

for deep) Y-0.25 The nature of love-sex, "prostitution vs torturing animals"

*Do the movie?s insights care significant philosophical/political implications? (0.25 for

significant, 0.5 for very significant) 0.25


ii. SCREENPLAY ORIGINALITY (out of 1 star, where very banal = 0; banal = 0.25; somewhat original

= 0.5; original = 0.75; very original = 1.0):
---> 1.0 <---

*Is film?s screenplay creative (0.25 for a positive answer)? Y

*Is the plot generally difficult to predict (0.25 for a positive answer)? Y

*Is film?s ending original (0.25 for a positive answer)? Y

*Does the screenplay particularly excel in any of the above (0.25 for a positive answer)? Y in originality



+ BONUS FOR CONTAINING CONTROVERSIAL & UNPOPULAR TOPICS (up to 0.5 star, where controversial

topics = 0.25; unpopular and taboo topics = 0.5) ---> 0.5 <---


II. PRODUCTION (out of 2 stars plus bonus, composite of sub-criteria bellow):
---> 1.0 <---


iii. ACTING (out of 1 star, where very ineffective = 0; ineffective = 0.25; somewhat effective =

0.5; effective = 0.75; very effective = 1.0):
---> 0.5 <---

*Do actors portray their characters effectively (0.25 for a positive answer)? Y

*Do actors interact among each other effectively (0.25 for a positive answer)? N

*Do actors connect with the audience (0.25 for a positive answer)? Y

*Do actors particularly excel in any of the above (0.25 for a positive answer)? N


iv. PRESENTATION (out of 1 star, where very ineffective = 0; ineffective = 0.25; somewhat

effective = 0.5; effective = 0.75; very effective = 1.0):
--->0.25<---

*Are visual elements effective (0.25 for a positive answer)? N, too blury

*Are acoustic elements effective (0.25 for a positive answer)? N, not enough control

*Is the film?s flow & duration effective (0.25 for a positive answer)? Y

*Does the presentation particularly excel in any of the above (0.25 for a positive answer)? N


+ BONUS FOR PRODUCING ON LOW BUDGET (up to 0.5 stars, where up to one million dollars budget =

0.25; up to half a million dollars budget = 0.5) --->0.25<---



TOTAL STAR RATING:
---> 3.75 <---

GRADE & RECOMMENDATION (above 5.0 = A+," Very Good Movie, Highly Recommend"; 5.0 & 4.75 = A,"

Very Good Movie, Highly Recommend"; 4.5 = A-, " Very Good Movie, Highly Recommend"; 4.25 = B+,

"Good Movie, Recommend"; 4.0 & 3.75 = B, "Good Movie, Recommend"; 3.5 = B - "Good Movie,

Recommend"; 3.25 = = C+, "Fair Movie" ; 3.0 & 2.75 = C, "Fair Movie"; 2.5 = C-, "Fair Movie";

2.25 = D+, "Poor Movie"; 2.0 & 1.75 = D, "Poor Movie"; 1.5 = D-, "Poor Movie"; bellow 1.5 = F,

"Very Poor Movie") :
---> B, "Good Movie, Recommend" <---


IF YOU LIKE THIS MOVIE I ALSO RECOMMEND : Whore and Monster

MEMORABLE QUOTES

"Men are all dogs ... if they are not thinking about it then they are thinking about not thinking it"

BALANCED MPAA RATING (not biased in favor of violence and against sexuality, where G = no

violence, no sexuality; PG = OK slight violence, OK slight sexuality; PG-13 = OK moderate

violence, OK moderate sexuality; R = OK explicit violence, OK explicit sexuality; NC-17 = OK

extreme violence, OK extreme sexuality)
---> PG-13a for moderate sexuality <---
½ May 3, 2004
Pretty sweet drama about a girl who runs away from her small New England town, heading to Florida looking for a better life.

Along the way, her car breaks down. She is picked up by an older couple in a motorhome.

The film reveals a seamy side to RVs, truck stops and rest areas that I never really considered. Like "Lot Lizards" for instance.

Judith Ivey is great in this as the older lady who takes the girl under her wing.

The director of photography/producer Richard Conners was present as this film festival screening to talk after the film. It was a low-budget film, made for $150,000 and shot in 12 days. That really helped me appreciate what I'd just seen, because truthfully, I thought it was all out of focus. They did the best they could, I guess, with one digital camera.
November 12, 2003
[font=Times New Roman]_______________________________________________________________
** WHAT ALICE FOUND - An 18-year-old woman (EMILY GRACE) plans to drive
from New Hampshire to Florida. When her car breaks down, she meets a couple in
an RV going home to Florida who give her a lift, but they are not what they seem.
But then, neither is she. This is a character study about the choices that people
make in life. A little slow at times, but interesting. With Judith Ivey.
_______________________________________________________________
[/font]
Page 2 of 2