What Is It? - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

What Is It? Reviews

Page 1 of 1
Top Critic
Scott Foundas
L.A. Weekly
December 8, 2006
It's clear that [director] Glover is less interested in narrative than in rekindling a rich midnight-movie/avant-garde tradition that encompasses everything from Maya Deren and Jack Smith to Alejandro Jodorowsky and David Lynch.
Top Critic
Laura Kern
New York Times
November 10, 2006
His directorial debut, What Is It? -- which plays as part of a double bill with a live, enthusiastically performed slide show in which Mr. Glover displays pages from his recent series of books -- is just as unclassifiable as he is.
| Original Score: 3/5
Ed Gonzalez
Slant Magazine
October 25, 2006
The film, for all of its very explicit connections to other works, is still a thing of unique madness.
Daniel Wible
Film Threat
December 6, 2005
If you're like me, i.e. an abnormally functioning film critic, you're likely to find it fascinating and utterly hilarious.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5

Film Threat
August 9, 2005
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Amber Wilkinson
Eye for Film
December 7, 2007
It isn't the blatant affronts - the aspects aimed to shock - that upset me, but the fact that the film lacks heart.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Jonathan Rosenbaum
Chicago Reader
November 16, 2006
Glover, who appears in the film as a kind of barbarian dictator-auteur, lacks both the self-imposed ideological innocence and the talent for composing sounds and images of David Lynch.
Top Critic
Michael Wilmington
Chicago Tribune
November 16, 2006
A shocker, but not a world-class one.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Eric D. Snider
EricDSnider.com
August 9, 2005
It's weirdness for weirdness' sake, and while I disagree fundamentally with a film that has no purpose other than to make you go 'huh ... that was odd,' I do concede that most of the weirdness in this case is at least interesting weirdness.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Page 1 of 1