What Is It? - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

What Is It? Reviews

Page 1 of 1
Eric D. Snider
EricDSnider.com
August 9, 2005
It's weirdness for weirdness' sake, and while I disagree fundamentally with a film that has no purpose other than to make you go 'huh ... that was odd,' I do concede that most of the weirdness in this case is at least interesting weirdness.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Top Critic
Jonathan Rosenbaum
Chicago Reader
November 16, 2006
Glover, who appears in the film as a kind of barbarian dictator-auteur, lacks both the self-imposed ideological innocence and the talent for composing sounds and images of David Lynch.
Amber Wilkinson
Eye for Film
December 7, 2007
It isn't the blatant affronts - the aspects aimed to shock - that upset me, but the fact that the film lacks heart.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Michael Wilmington
Chicago Tribune
November 16, 2006
A shocker, but not a world-class one.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Laura Kern
New York Times
November 10, 2006
His directorial debut, What Is It? -- which plays as part of a double bill with a live, enthusiastically performed slide show in which Mr. Glover displays pages from his recent series of books -- is just as unclassifiable as he is.
| Original Score: 3/5
Daniel Wible
Film Threat
December 6, 2005
If you're like me, i.e. an abnormally functioning film critic, you're likely to find it fascinating and utterly hilarious.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Ed Gonzalez
Slant Magazine
October 25, 2006
The film, for all of its very explicit connections to other works, is still a thing of unique madness.
Top Critic
Scott Foundas
L.A. Weekly
December 8, 2006
It's clear that [director] Glover is less interested in narrative than in rekindling a rich midnight-movie/avant-garde tradition that encompasses everything from Maya Deren and Jack Smith to Alejandro Jodorowsky and David Lynch.

Film Threat
August 9, 2005
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
MaryAnn Johanson
Flick Filosopher
March 9, 2007
Top Critic
Dennis Harvey
Variety
August 9, 2005
Page 1 of 1