What Is It? - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

What Is It? Reviews

Page 2 of 4
½ January 10, 2009
Twisted, sick, scary, disturbing, confusing. What else would you want in a film?
December 11, 2008
a pretty dark, surreal, and at times somewhat pleasent theatrical experience. using actors with down syndrome, porn stars with animal heads, talking snails, among other things, glover was pulling his audience with an experience similar to films from Alejandro Jobowsky. I guess this is was dwells in Glover's imagination.
November 17, 2008
Crispin Glover's finest
September 5, 2008
Comparable to Eraserhead.
September 3, 2008
A unique theatrical experience unlike any other, this film really challenges the conventions of cinema, not in terms of its avant-garde structure, which can be found in other movies, but in terms of how it shows the audience things we aren't used to that are truly challenging. What is just as interesting as the film itself is the audience and the collective reactions to what is going on in the film. This is definitely a movie that Glover is right to only show when he is present in person, as so much of it could be taken out of context to hurt him and the mentally and physically disabled performers he worked with. See it if you have a chance, it's a theatrical experience that is truly memorable.
August 31, 2008
one of the more fascinating films to come out in recent years - very dense and definitely warrants a few more viewings
July 31, 2008
This is by far the most bizarre thing I have ever seen... crosses all barriers into the depths sheer and utter mind blowing sensory overload. I'm not sure I totally understand it but I loved it.
July 28, 2008
Art for the sake of art; weirdness for the sake of weirdness. While images of this bizarre spectacle won't be leaving me for some time, I question what else I was supposed to walk away with. In fact, I asked Crispin Glover this very question during the Q&A period, and the sum of his answer was that he'd be content with his audience walking away with any question at all. Pfft. While C.G. gave us some clue to us wanting to question taboos, this film is so chock-full of them, you tend to stop noticing. With the muffled and incomprehensible dialogue to boot, I gave up trying to decipher much else. If you want to see something you've absolutely never seen before, well this is it. But I wouldn't recommend it.
July 22, 2008
Unique, funny, bizarre, and downright fascinating. The images in this film will not soon leave you. It will definitely challenge the senses of some. I seen this as part of Crispin Glover's Big Slide show. The book reading before the film was a real trip! An extraordinary treat for anyone who seeks something a little different in their entertainment.
½ July 22, 2008
I saw this film at one of Crispin Glover's personal appearances where he reads from his books and answers outraged audience questions. The outrage doesn't stem from the books, but from a film he shows alonside the readings that can best be described as "experimental". In part, it is a symbolic film, open to individual interpretation. It's also follows the dadaists and surrealists in its desire to shock the "bourgeoisie" - if only such a class still existed. The film has three sections: the first features young actors with Downs Syndrome doing things (it's hard to figure out exactly what as they are mostly incomprehensible) and the start of a repeating motif of snails, which are constantly crushed or salted during the film; the second takes place in the lead character's subconscious: a fantasy marshland with Glover as the Ego, a man with cerebral palsy as the Id (he arrives in a clam shell pulled by a naked woman wearing an elephant head) and several naked black women with monkey heads carrying watermelons; the third takes place in the living room of a Spanish-style house with Glover, two concubines played by women with Downs Syndrome, a man with Downs Syndrome dressed as a Roman emperor and a black and white minstrel. The film cuts between these different scenes, but it's difficult to say what it's all about. Obviously about transgression: there are racist and sexist elements (playing a song by Johnny Rebel called "Niggers Never Die" ("They just smell that way.") while a naked woman wearing a monkey head stimulates the genitals of the cerebral palsied Id ranks high up there); Glover wears a fur coat; a pedophilic painting of Shirley Temple with swastikas; etc., etc. I don't think I'm jaded because I can be offended by things, but maybe because it was so obvious what he was doing I had trouble taking it seriously. After a while, the snail massacre got a little boring too. Interestingly, amongst all the taboo-breaking (racism, sexism, pedophilia, fur-wearing, exploitation, etc.) it's the rather harmless snail killing that provoked the most outrage (although the grossest snail head severing had a woman loudly guffawing behind me). I suppose in that sense the film succeeds.
July 19, 2008
This was more than just a movie, it was a book reading and Crispin Hellion Glover doing Q&A.
The book reading was interesting and sometimes funny.
The movie was a very interesting concept and very strange experience.
He liked to ramble a lot during the Q&A and sometimes forgot what he the question originally was. It was very interesting and the trailer for 'It's Fine, Everything Is Fine' looked good.
½ June 26, 2008
Avoid this film like the plague. It's awful, disjointed, amateurish, and boring.
June 3, 2008
I love everything that Crispin Glover touches, so I know I'm going to love this. Hell, even if it really really sucks I'll still love it!
May 30, 2008
I like this so much i'm joining the fan club.
April 29, 2008
Some neat visuals, but that's about it. I felt like it tried too hard to shock me by breaking taboos, but meh.
February 29, 2008
An immensely disturbing film best watched while mildly intoxicated and bereft of your senses. This is the ultimate "feel good" movie of the 20th century. Oh my! Did I just fib?
February 7, 2008
Definately worth the price of admission! it's been a while since i paid for a movie...
February 6, 2008
It was way better the second time!
February 6, 2008
It was definitely striking. I'm not sure if I was more disturbed by the film itself or the audience reaction to the film. Could do without all the senseless snail slaughter. Crispin Glover's Q&A session afterward definitely made me appreciate it more.
February 5, 2008
The Big Slideshow was better, as was the Q and A, but the film is worthwhile.
Page 2 of 4