What We Did on Our Holiday - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

What We Did on Our Holiday Reviews

Page 1 of 3
David N. Butterworth
rec.arts.movies.reviews
September 18, 2016
Proves without a doubt that America doesn't hold a monopoly on obnoxious child actors.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Francesca Rudkin
New Zealand Herald
April 26, 2016
Luckily for us, and unlike their bickering and scripted parents, the kids are largely left to improvise their parts and the result is mostly charming, sometimes hilarious.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Ken Eisner
Georgia Straight
August 25, 2015
This blandly titled comedy from the U.K. spends so much setup time being generically clever, it's truly unexpected when, a third of the way in, things heat up in oddball ways.
S. Jhoanna Robledo
Common Sense Media
July 24, 2015
Clichéd British dramedy deals with divorce, loss.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Jon Espino
The Young Folks
July 15, 2015
What We Did on Our Holiday emphasizes the celebration of life through masterful British comedy...
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Top Critic
Brad Wheeler
Globe and Mail
July 13, 2015
Do we want to spend 95 minutes of our summer holiday watching a film about a young, squabbling, dysfunctional British family on a sham trip? Yes, we do.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Glenn Kenny
RogerEbert.com
July 10, 2015
It's not what you'd call "major" cinema, but it's a breezy entertainment, particularly if you're a fan of one or more of the cast members.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Sarah Boslaugh
Playback:stl
July 10, 2015
...What We Did on our Holiday actually succeeds pretty well despite its rather hackneyed premise.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Top Critic
Jeannette Catsoulis
New York Times
July 9, 2015
A damp-eyed comedy whose banal title isn't the only thing needing improvement.
Top Critic
Joe Neumaier
New York Daily News
July 9, 2015
Underfoot is a cast of young kids given too many cutesy moments and one-liners. In the middle of it all are actors like Rosamund Pike and David Tennant.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Chris Knight
National Post
July 9, 2015
[What We Did on Our Holiday contains a] heartfelt central story, which features Connolly in what can only be deemed another Connolly role.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Wendy Ide
Times (UK)
July 9, 2015
Engaging but slight.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Norman Wilner
NOW Toronto
July 9, 2015
What We Did On Our Holiday is an interesting domestic comedy for exactly half its running time, and then the whole thing falls apart so totally that you can almost hear the pieces hit the floor.
| Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Linda Barnard
Toronto Star
July 9, 2015
There are a few amusing moments and flashes of charm but this Holiday is an uneven trip, with underwritten adult characters and a strange third act involving a poke at misguided social services.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Brian Orndorf
Blu-ray.com
July 9, 2015
An amusing picture with a few laugh-out-loud moments, but it's more interesting as storytelling tightrope walk, studying the feature as it navigates troubling turns of plot.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Top Critic
Mike D'Angelo
AV Club
July 9, 2015
What We Did On Our Holiday sets up a sturdy comic scenario and then proceeds to head in another direction altogether-one that's nearly impossible to anticipate, making the film much more of a goofy delight than would have seemed likely at the outset.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Top Critic
Sherilyn Connelly
Village Voice
July 7, 2015
Jones and Connolly have terrific chemistry, particularly as Lottie works through the fact that adults encourage dishonesty and lying when it suits their own needs, and that secrets are more pervasive than openness.
Chris Cabin
Slant Magazine
June 27, 2015
The underlying, redundant, and underwhelming theme of the film is the pursuit of family unity at all costs.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
March 7, 2015
From the makers of the adorable British sitcom Outnumbered comes a lovely, fable-like tragi-comic tale about life, loss, lying and honesty.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Matthew Toomey
ABC Radio Brisbane
February 23, 2015
Do they want it to be a light comedy or a dark comedy? The simplistic finale, complete with a shallow message, only adds to the confusion.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Page 1 of 3