What Would Jesus Buy? - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

What Would Jesus Buy? Reviews

Page 1 of 3
June 12, 2010
In WWJB, we don't really feel like we get to know anyone that well, not even the primary subjects of the film: Billy and his choir.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.9/10
December 6, 2007
If you're going to live by the word of the Church of Stop Shopping, a smart first step would be to avoid buying tickets to this film.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
November 30, 2007
My take is that it should be renamed the Church of Stop Yelling at Me Because You've Made Your Point.
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
December 1, 2007
Possibly the feeblest entry yet in the anti-corporate theatre-of-muckraking genre.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
November 15, 2007
With a provocative title clearly designed to get viewers' attention, it's disappointing that [the movie] doesn't actually have much to say.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
February 28, 2008
Talen runs the risk of losing his purpose amid his performance.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
October 18, 2008
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
November 29, 2007
The choir might have more impact if they didn't seem like a traveling theater troupe led by some odd blend of an electrocuted Quentin Tarantino and Poison's C.C. DeVille.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
November 15, 2007
This Rob VanAlkemade film has a good title and no focus.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
December 7, 2007
I really like the message the movie has to say... I just wish the whole package were good enough to recommend as a gift to give yourself instead of another hour and a half at the mall.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 24, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
March 17, 2008
Seeing WWJB? in a theater is not necessary, although seeing him and the choir hijacking a mall in person would be better than Beowulf in IMAX.
January 3, 2008
The good reverend and his crew do their best to get busted at assorted corporate shrines (Disneyland, the Mall of America), but their media-driven antics serve only to underline Spurlock's add-water-and-stir approach to political documentary.
November 17, 2011
Read More | Original Score: 1/5
November 16, 2007
Most viewers will be left to wonder whether the message is connecting.
June 14, 2008
So we need a better movie about this subject. As usual.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
December 14, 2007
And as far as sermons go, it's a good one. You just wish the director had found someone else to deliver it.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
November 15, 2007
What Would Jesus Buy? is one of those all-too-common issue-docs that's so clear about its point that it's practically pointless.
Read More | Original Score: D+
November 16, 2007
You know that deflated feeling you get after you've spent a lot of time and money shopping -- and have little to show for your efforts? This disappointing biography, about performance artist Reverend Billy, does an awfully good job recreating it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
December 7, 2007
While you can appreciate what the choir and the film are trying to say, too often they get bogged down in trying to spread that message. They also take themselves a little too seriously at times.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Page 1 of 3