When a Stranger Calls - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

When a Stranger Calls Reviews

Page 1 of 5
February 11, 2006
[Belle] seems only able to summon up an emotion that approximates how I feel when I have poured a bowl of cereal and realize I am out of milk.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/10
February 11, 2006
A production that never comes close to realizing its potential to tweak the viewer's primal fears.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 18, 2012
Full Review | Original Score: C
February 6, 2006
A scary final 15 minutes, but until the climax and epilogue, we're confronted with mostly dead air.
February 5, 2006
This thing is a movie like static is a song.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
February 9, 2006
Stranger is one long tease that, instead of building tension around Jill's efforts to outwit her mysterious stalker, has her run around the house, unsuccessfully calling every friend, cop and family member she knows.
February 3, 2006
Unless you're a 13-year-old girl alone at home, there aren't many scares to be found in this horrible, pointless remake
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/10
February 3, 2006
Elongates its source material's memorable opening segment to the 83-minute breaking point.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
February 3, 2006
The bare-bones story simply can't survive being stretched to a feature-length running time.
Full Review | Original Score: C
February 3, 2006
Don't answer this made-for-TV style stinker.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/5
February 3, 2006
In a just world, teenagers will see the garbage that Screen Gems is trying to shovel down their throats with Stranger, and ignore it like they would a concerned parent.
Full Review | Original Score: D-
February 3, 2006
This latest horror remake may not necessarily pack the same horrifying wallop as the original, but When a Stranger Calls is still a classic example of a babysitter's worst nightmare.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
April 20, 2009
Amateurish direction by Simon West ("Laura Croft: Tomb Raider") contributes to the utter failure of this pathetic update of the original film of the same title.
Full Review | Original Score: D
February 3, 2006
A minimum effort horror movie. It does just enough to scare easily unnerved thirteen-year-old girls, and not much else.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
February 4, 2006
West dials up a wrong number in this flimsy remake of the 1979 B-movie...When A Stranger Calls feels about as flat and plastic as a long distance phone card.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
April 29, 2009
It's a safe dumb film for safe dumb audiences.
July 14, 2007
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
February 4, 2006
An open letter to the filmmakers of the worst movie I've ever seen in my life...
February 2, 2006
Heavy duty horror fans will not be willing to pay this phone bill, but the core audience for this PG-13 thriller will more than likely take the Stranger's call this weekend.
June 24, 2006
If you've seen either Black Christmas or Halloween, there's nothing new here: the hyped-up score keeps telling us we ought to be scared, but the suspense feels mechanical and fake.
Page 1 of 5