When Nietzsche Wept - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

When Nietzsche Wept Reviews

Page 1 of 7
½ November 7, 2015
Good movie worth a watch
September 6, 2015
interessante, mas foge do sensacional!
½ August 7, 2015
Beautiful locations, costuming, and people were not enough to save this low budget pseudo-intellectual sham.
½ September 12, 2014
Katheryn Winnick gives a lousy performance and the overall result feels like an average film student's effort
August 31, 2014
19th century Viennese bromance
Billie P.
Super Reviewer
November 17, 2013
The cinematography is that weird cheap kind that makes the movement of the actors look strange. Nevertheless, Armand Assante plays the heck out of Friedrich Nietzsche and Ben Cross plays what I'd imagine a Josef Breuer would be like. What this movie is, by the way, is a fictionalized account of what would have happened if Breuer, the forerunner to psychoanalysis, and Nietzche met. Even though it never happened, it draws parallels between the goal of psychoanalysis, freeing a patient up to realize what his or her unconscious desires are, and Nietzsche's philosophy, which is something like choosing to live one's life like every day would be repeated, daring to live one's life dangerously and boldly. Not a bad story, and really one of a kind.
May 21, 2013
A masterful piece which ties the lives of four important historical figures whose work forever changed the way we analyze/perceive life, in a virtual plot that in many ways stays true to all their individual work. Simply a masterpiece but not for the common Hollywood happy audience. Your appreciation for this movie directly depends on your knowledge and familiarity with these characters' work in real life.
½ June 5, 2012
Great cast, weak story. Mostly entertaining.
½ February 15, 2012
Trs bon film pour les amateurs de philosophie et tudiants
½ January 21, 2012
Oh..I enjoyed it like a glass of good wine! Fabulous Armand Assante!
½ December 30, 2011
Irving Yallom's historical piece of fiction translated beautifully in this film.
December 27, 2011
~зджав едва~ еде 1/2 а?. - 1/2аи, д 3/4 п 3/4ла. "л 1/4а,а е ?пе, п 3/4?еб 1/2 3/4 Ben Cross (Chariots of Fire), 1/2 3/4 ил 1/4 3/4в е ?а 1/4 3/4би?,в 3/4! 3/4~ з 1/2ае каква е к 1/2ига,а...
½ November 26, 2011
As much as I enjoyed seeing a snippet of Nietzsche's ass during Breuer's examination of him, I really was disappointed in this film. I read the book right before, which was far better. It also added some scenes/changes that were not in the book. Beyond that, bad acting, horrible montages, and I kept expecting it to turn into some horribly acted soft core porn the way it was put together.
½ October 18, 2011
Genius idea, poor plot, moderate performance. This idea could have been much more perfectly made. Nietzsche is living desperate life cause of his thoughts .. while Psychiatry was not yet an established science, he meets a famous doctor whom he leads to discover new things about psychology.
½ September 1, 2011
Excellent film. Ben Cross (at his best) and Armand Assante were amazing! The pacing of the film was just perfect. The only negatives were Katheryn Winnick and the costumer who too frequently allowed the women's bodices to rise slightly above their skirts showing a bit of skin when bending over - sloppy! But well worth watching.
August 22, 2011
I only wanted to see it because I read the book and I liked it - not as much as Yalom's more recent Schopenhauer Cure - but I was definitely eager to see how they put it on screen.

And I was disappointed. The first thing were the stupid accents - so annoying I switched to German after three minutes, unfortunately the German dubbing was even worse.

The whole film is a mess: wooden acting, poor cinematography and editing (some of the weirdest and most distracting cuts I've ever seen) and incredibly historical inaccuracy (OK, the whole plot is fictional but the book at least depicts the environment and the city of Vienna quite precise). They don't even got the vast mustache of Nietzsche right!!

When Nietzsche Wept is a pathetic and cheap looking production with almost none artistical aspiration. There are so many great films, don't waste your time with this one. Read the book.
August 15, 2011
A great sampling of Nietzsche's genius through theatrical interpretation and cinematography. However, this depiction is to be a supplement only, not sustenance.

"That life is really so tragic would least of all explain the origin of an art form"assuming that art is not merely imitation of the reality ..."

Friedrich Nietzsche
February 19, 2011
It wasn't powerful enough to show the most interesting aspects of philosophy and psychology, but hey, at least there's a movie about it.
½ December 20, 2010
Really good. It was a delightful movie for several reasons: acting, costume, music, humorous scenes.
Super Reviewer
½ September 11, 2010
I was really energized by this movie. Waxing philosophical on college days of reading multitudes of well worn copies of several philosophers on in summer on lake Mendota. Warning this movie does not hold up as a strictly period piece or philosophical treaties if your looking for either don't look here. This should be filed more appropriately in the romance/marriage pop self help section. Ben Cross Dr. Breuer hold up this movie himself. Playing a 18th century physician at the top of his game. He's is approached Katheryn Winnick to help Nietzche after she spurned his marriage proposal. As a ruse to keep helping Nietzsche, Dr Breuer asks Nietzsche to help him deal with his own existential crisis. The resolution of Dr Breuer crisis is empty, but the path is very interesting. Katheryn Winnick is cast as Lou Salome a Russian writer. While very enjoyable to see she drops the movie to the level of some 90210 movie. I fully expecting Armand Assante to slip into his standard "Ned Ravine" persona from Fatal instinct, But his red contacts and mustache must have helped him stay the stoic course. Surprising the movie centers more around Br. Breur's existential crisis. Dr. Breuer Friend is Jamie Elman "Ziggy" Freud. On a level, I choose to ignore, this movie tries to be a "Connections" where several great minds cross paths and change history. It doesn't work, James Burke does it better. I really wanted to read this book when I first saw it in the Mid 80's, but never had the time. I read several other reviews before I wrote one, they basically fell into two categories: The movies not as good as the book. I hope your imaginations is better than a 2 dimensional 104 minute representation on a budget. Nietzsche is evil Yes he is. Don't watch this and keep chewing on your Cud.
Page 1 of 7