When the Levees Broke: A Requiem in Four Acts - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

When the Levees Broke: A Requiem in Four Acts Reviews

Page 1 of 24
½ September 12, 2017
The movie is too long and factually challenged.
The positives are the great soundtrack and the personal tales of tragedy. But when Mr. Lee goes off the deep end and claims that the levees were blown up by the government the movie turns into a work of fiction and should be rated as one. On that front, the movie deserves the lowest rating.
It is a shame that Mr. Lee's racism and intolerance have come to dominate his movie making skills. As a filmmaker, Mr. Lee is a great talent but when that talent is polluted by misguided hatred it diminishes his films.
December 31, 2015
It would be much easier to take Spike Lee seriously of he didn't spend so damn much time over playing the obvious. Race.
October 13, 2015
Spike Lee's masterpiece of a documentary. The definitive film account of the disaster that befell New Orleans. Essential viewing.
August 31, 2015
another fuckin lost review-ty flixter-assholes!!!!!!!
August 29, 2015
No sé si HBO retransmtirá este tremendo documental (de tres partes) de Spike Lee sobre el huracán Katrina el 2005. Deberían, porque es una obra maestra del cine documental demostrando que lee, cuando toma la cámara para documentar lo hace de manera excepcional.
El documental muestra con toda su crudeza el racismo cristalizado de la sociedad norteamericana y la pasividad denigrante del gobierno de G. W. Bush ante la catástrofe que este año cumple 10 años. La ciudad de la música New Orleans inundada hasta desaparecer producto de la negligencia y del abandono.
January 16, 2015
Spike Lee did a great job showing what the media and others tried to hide. This documentary was sad and shocking but needed to be shown. Nobody can keep it real like Spike Lee!
Super Reviewer
September 14, 2014
I thought this movie did a brilliant job of depicting just how much Hurricane Katrina ruined the lives of so many New Orleans residents. I couldn't believe everything I saw - truly heartbreaking and difficult to imagine.
September 1, 2013
Paste Magazine top 25 of decade #7
Super Reviewer
June 20, 2013
Spike Lee insisted that we watch all 4 hours, 15 minutes without a break at the Film Festival. We obliged even though it was eventually broken up over 5 nights on PBS. I derived nothing from the "uncut" version but such an epic still deserves praise in telling the tale of those who's lives were changed due to government neglect.
January 18, 2013
This is by far one of the most important, far reaching, and eloquent documents of an American tragedy that has ever been made
December 7, 2012
Would like to see sometime!
½ September 15, 2012
Everyone should see this movie as it chronicals the injustices and carelessness of the U.S. government. What happened in New Orleans is a tragedy.
September 2, 2012
Exceptionally executed doc on the chaos and heartbreak of severity of nature and uncaring federal govt. potent and important, tough to swallow
September 1, 2012
The first of Lee's 2 docs on Katrina. Exhaustive and emotionally exhausting. A must watch contribution to American history.
½ August 15, 2012
A lot of stuff you likely already know about a horrific tragedy, but well-organized and shared in excruciating detail. Powerful on many levels.
May 11, 2012
A profound detailed account of the events leading up to Hurricane Katrina and the breaking of the levees and the devastating aftermath along with the indifference of the Bush Administration towards the people of New Orleans. This documentary is a testament to what really happened and it cannot be hidden and it cannot be sugar coated and it cannot be glossed over by the people who did nothing to help until weeks into the damage. Through film footage of people in the water, in the super dome, on the streets in wheelchairs, dead bloated bodies floating around or on street corners and through interviews with survivors the devastation of what happened smacks you in the face. Many people are interviewed including the Governor of Louisiana, the Mayor of New Orleans, Harry Belafonte, Winton Marsalis and many many former New Orleanans.

This film puts our modern greedy anti-social programs Neo-Liberal political and economic system to shame. It really shows what happens when only money talks and the little people are expendable. More so when the little people are not white.
April 19, 2012
Doesn't seem interesting.
April 14, 2012
wow. this left me speechless. i cried throiughout most of it. to see people being treated like this and nothing being done, there's a spot in hell for everyone who done wrong during and after katrina.
March 27, 2012
Excellent movie..worth watching.
½ March 21, 2012
One of the most heartwrenching and devastating stories I've ever seen, and not just of documentaries. The subject matter rivals anything that a writer of fiction could imagine. Spike Lee is to be commended.
Page 1 of 24