When We Leave - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

When We Leave Reviews

Page 1 of 2
April 15, 2011
...an old-fashioned melodrama with all the heightened emotions and focus on the struggles of an almost saintly heroine that you would expect from a work in that genre.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
April 15, 2011
"When We Leave" has a predetermined arc that almost chokes its life, but for frustrated witnesses to this passion play, Kekilli offers redemption.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 31, 2011
A powerhouse melodrama that feels didactic and manipulative even as it rips your heart out.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 31, 2011
What elevates When We Leave is the three-dimensional acting and the larger context.
March 25, 2011
It's grueling, but Kekilli is fantastic.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
March 18, 2011
The personal and the political are represented here. When We Leave is distinguished by strong performances, especially from Kekilli.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 18, 2011
Anyone can make a movie about a woman suffering under the restrictions of a fundamentalist mentality; the trick is making one that doesn't fall back on stereotypes and simplistic finger-wagging.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
March 18, 2011
The whole sad enterprise is watchable because of Kekilli.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 3, 2011
It's so melodramatic, with such crudely drawn, oversimplified characters and hackneyed situations, that it drains its own pond.
February 25, 2011
Script problems aside, the fact that newcomer Feo Aladag has created such a strong-hearted drama, getting our attention and making us care, opening our eyes to such a senseless crime, is no small feat.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
February 18, 2011
Aside from its conclusion, "When We Leave'' is credible and well-observed.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
February 6, 2011
Until the final scene, Feo Aladag's When We Leave is an effective melodrama.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 28, 2011
An intense and soul-stirring German film about misogyny, tradition, reconciliation, and one Turkish woman's quest for independence.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 28, 2011
There are times when the tension lags badly and the story loses its way as Umay spins between her worlds. Still, it's a worthy start, and Aladag's distinctive voice helps the film survive any dismay.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 27, 2011
It is frequently gripping and sincere in its intentions, but never quite as revelatory, or as devastating, as it should be.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
January 27, 2011
Without hand-wringing, 'When We Leave' can move one to head-shaking sorrow, but also to admiration.
January 27, 2011
Aladag isn't a particularly expressive filmmaker, and she hits a few bum notes toward the end that feel more like movie payoffs than real-life drama, but she tackles this story with surprising nuance and depth.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
January 27, 2011
Aladag's point, I think, is that no matter how righteous we may feel about this kind of zero-sum cultural collision, for the human beings involved it often results in unbearable tragedy.
January 27, 2011
A film whose simplicity ultimately raises complex issues and feelings, one made with clarity of vision that uncovers layers without preaching.
January 26, 2011
Aladag fully engages with the complexity of the visual language in its entirety. When We Leave is a subtle cinematic feast for the senses, elevated by technical prowess atypical of an artist's first film.
Page 1 of 2