When We Leave - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

When We Leave Reviews

Page 1 of 2
February 2, 2011
The clunky denouement reveals that When We Leave is far less than its socio-political relevance would suggest.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 26, 2011
Too little Do the Right Thing, too much Crash.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
January 27, 2011
stinks of manipulation and easy resolution
| Original Score: 2.5/5
March 17, 2011
Unfortunately, Aladag was not as nuanced in her approach as her star.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 19, 2011
...a routine, interminably paced drama...
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 3, 2015
The movie is suffocated by its own grim determinism.
January 28, 2011
Kekilli delivers a perfectly tuned performance. Too bad the script is often clunky and melodramatic, as the first-time director, Vienna-born Feo Aladag, tries to manipulate viewers' emotions.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 3, 2011
There are some intense, moving sequences, but too much emotional badgering and a general shortage of finesse.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 26, 2011
Aladag fully engages with the complexity of the visual language in its entirety. When We Leave is a subtle cinematic feast for the senses, elevated by technical prowess atypical of an artist's first film.
March 3, 2011
It's so melodramatic, with such crudely drawn, oversimplified characters and hackneyed situations, that it drains its own pond.
February 25, 2011
Script problems aside, the fact that newcomer Feo Aladag has created such a strong-hearted drama, getting our attention and making us care, opening our eyes to such a senseless crime, is no small feat.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
March 25, 2011
It's grueling, but Kekilli is fantastic.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
January 28, 2011
There are times when the tension lags badly and the story loses its way as Umay spins between her worlds. Still, it's a worthy start, and Aladag's distinctive voice helps the film survive any dismay.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
April 15, 2011
...an old-fashioned melodrama with all the heightened emotions and focus on the struggles of an almost saintly heroine that you would expect from a work in that genre.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
January 12, 2011
When We Leave concerns a different sort of traditional rather than contemporary Western misogyny, one culturally based less on contempt and rage than the impact of community censure on male dignity and even his shaky sense of masculinity.
January 25, 2011
Kekilli, more than an unofficial spokeswoman for rebellious Euro-Muslim youth, sells a simple and deterministic story through her sheer presence and precise reaction shots.
January 28, 2011
An intense and soul-stirring German film about misogyny, tradition, reconciliation, and one Turkish woman's quest for independence.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 27, 2011
It is frequently gripping and sincere in its intentions, but never quite as revelatory, or as devastating, as it should be.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
March 31, 2011
A powerhouse melodrama that feels didactic and manipulative even as it rips your heart out.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
April 15, 2011
"When We Leave" has a predetermined arc that almost chokes its life, but for frustrated witnesses to this passion play, Kekilli offers redemption.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Page 1 of 2